Skip to product information
1 of 2


Bach: St Matthew Passion - Harnoncourt (3 CDs)

Bach: St Matthew Passion - Harnoncourt (3 CDs)


Regular price $25.99 USD
Regular price $31.99 USD Sale price $25.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Christoph Prégardien, Matthias Goerne, Christine Schäfer, Dorothea Röschmann, Bernarda Fink, Elisabeth von Magnus, Dietrich Henschel, Markus Schäfer, Oliver Widmer

Concentus Musicus Wien, Arnold Schoenberg Choir & Wiener Sängerknaben, Nikolaus Harnoncourt

Harnoncourt waited over 30 years to return to the 'Great Passion', which, but for his live Concertgebouw recording, he last recorded in 1970 when he had completed only a handful of cantatas in Teldec's defining series. Harnoncourt's revisitation presents a unique statement, one that can't fail to make an impression. Recorded in the sumptuous acoustic of the Jesuitenkirche in Vienna, there's a detectable flavour of southern European oratorio, ebulliently theatrical, immediate and free-breathing, and without the austerity of North German rhetoric. What's recognisably perceived as 'spiritual' in the carefully coiffured renderings of Suzuki (BIS) and Herreweghe (Harmonia Mundi) has no place here. Harnoncourt's religiosity isn't imposed but stands rather in a lifetime of musical distillation. This is instantly obvious in the opening chorus, where bridal imagery (in the music's secular, balletic lift) is juxtaposed with the physical imagery of what's at stake (in the broad, enduring bow strokes). While Suzuki's visceral chorale is more spine-tingling, the refinement here of 'Sehet, Wohin?' amid inexorable, paradoxically unquestioning direction, is masterful.
Pacing Part 1 is no easy task, and many a tank has been emptied before reaching what the great Bach scholar Friederich Smend called 'the central message of the work' (encompasssing Nos 46-49). Harnoncourt neither dallies unduly with the chorales nor charges through them; they skilfully counterbalance the remarkably incandescent narrative of Prégardien's Evangelist.
The tenor shows a supreme attention to detail (even if his singing is sometimes effortful), and his dialogue with Matthias Goerne's vital Christus is especially compelling. Harnoncourt gives 'Blute nur' a touch of characteristic melodrama, but none can doubt how Dorothea Röschmann and the orchestra, between them, project its expressive core.
The strikingly cultivated crowd scenes of the well-drilled, medium-sized Arnold Schoenberg Choir make a strong contrast with the relatively brazen chorus in Harnoncourt's 1970 version.
Unlike the specialists of the pioneering years, Harnoncourt hand-picks his soloists from the widest possible pool. Apart from the excellent Röschmann, Christine Schäfer impresses here far more than in her rather harried solo Bach disc (DG). More relaxed and controlled, she sings with acute coloration and stillness in 'Aus Liebe'. With Bernarda Fink's beguiling 'Erbarme dich' and Michael Schade's resplendent 'Geduld', only Oliver Widmer (who sings 'Gebt mir') gives less than unalloyed pleasure.
The pick of the crop is Dietrich Henschel, who sings with great warmth and penetration with a 'Mache dich' to stand alongside (if not to rival) Fischer-Dieskau for Karl Richter. But with even these wonderful contributions, it still takes clarity of vision to graphically propel the drama yet also ponder it reverentially. Again, Harnoncourt leaves his mark with his unerring compassion at most of the critical points.
Finally, mention should be made of Concentus Musicus, grainy and luminous in ensemble, the obbligato wind a far cry from the softer-edged and rounded tonal world of almost all other 'period' groups. In short, this is the most culturally alert reading in years and a truly original and illuminating experience.

Disc 1 -
1 Choral: Kommt, Ihr Ter, Helft Mir Klagen (1. Teil)
2 Rezitativ: Da Jesus Diese Rede Vollendet Hatte
3 Choral: Herzliebster Jesu, Was Hast Du Verbrochen
4 Rezitativ: Da Versammelten Sich Die Hohenpriester
5 Rezitativ: Du Lieber Heiland Du
6 Arie: Buss Und Reu
7 Rezitativ: Da Ging Hin Der ZWN Einer
8 Arie: Blute Nur, Du Liebes Herz
9 Rezitativ: Aber Am Ersten Tage Der Sbrot
10 Choral: Ich Bin's, Ich Sollte B
11 Rezitativ: Er Antwortete Und Sprach
12 Rezitativ: Wiewohl Mein Herz in TRN Schwimmt
13 Arie: Ich Will Dir Mein Herze Schenken
14 Rezitativ: Und Da Sie Den Lobgesang Gesprochen Hatten
15 Choral: Erkenne Mich, Mein H
16 Rezitativ: Petrus Aber Antwortete Und Sprach Zu Ihm
17 Choral: Ich Will Hier Bei Dir Stehen
18 Rezitativ: Da Kam Jesus Mit Ihnen Zu Einem Hofe
19 Rezitativ - Choral: O Schmerz! Hier Zittert Das Geque Herz
20 Arie - Chor: Ich Will Bei Meinem Jesu Wachen
21 Rezitativ: Und Ging Hin Ein Wenig
22 Rezitativ: Der Heiland Ft Vor Seinem Vater Nieder
23 Arie: Gerne Will Ich Mich Bequemen
24 Rezitativ: Und Er Kam Zu Seinen J
25 Choral: Was Gott Will, Das G'scheh' Allzeit
26 Rezitativ: Und Er Kam Und Fand Sie Aber Schlafend
27 Arie - Chor: So Ist Mein Jesus Nun Gefangen
28 Rezitativ: Und Siehe, Einer Aus Denen
29 Choral: O Mensch, Bewein Dein Sro
- Disc 2 -
1 Arie - Chor: Ach! Nun Ist Mein Jesus Hin! (2. Teil)
2 Rezitativ: Die Aber Jesum Gegriffen Hatten
3 Choral: Mir Hat Die Welt TR Gericht'
4 Rezitativ: Und Wiewohl Viel Falsche Zeugen Herzutraten
5 Rezitativ: Mein Jesus Schweigt Zu Falschen Ltille
6 Arie: Geduld!
7 Rezitativ: Und Der Hohepriester Antwortete Und Sprach Zu Ihm
8 Choral: Wer Hat Dich So Geschlagen
9 Rezitativ: Petrus Aber Sadraussen Im Palast
10 Arie: Erbarme Dich
11 Choral: Bin Ich Gleich Von Dir Gewichen
12 Rezitativ: Des Morgens Aber Hielten Alle Hohepriester
13 Arie: Gebt Mir Meinen Jesum Wieder
14 Rezitativ: Sie Hielten Aber Einen Rat
15 Choral: Befiehl Du Deine Wege
16 Rezitativ - Chor: Auf Das Fest Aber Hatte Der Landpfleger Gewohnheit
17 Choral: Wie Wunderbarlich Ist Doch Diese Strafe!
18 Rezitativ: Der Landpfleger Sagte
19 Rezitativ: Er Hat Uns Allen Wohlgetan
20 Arie: Aus Liebe Will Mein Heiland Sterben
21 Rezitativ: Sie Schrien Aber Noch Mehr
22 Rezitativ: Erbarm Es Gott!
23 Arie: KN TRN Meiner Wangen
24 Rezitativ: Da Nahmen Die Kriegsknechte
25 Choral: O Haupt Voll Blut Und Wunden
26 Rezitativ: Und Da Sie Ihn Verspottet Hatten
27 Rezitativ: Ja Freilich Will in Uns Das Fleisch Und Blut
28 Arie: Komm, Sreuz, So Will Ich Sagen
- Disc 3 -
1 Rezitativ: Und Da Sie An Die Ste Kamen
2 Rezitativ: Ach Golgatha!
3 Arie - Chor: Sehet, Jesus Hat Die Hand
4 Rezitativ: Und Von Der Sechsten Stunde An
5 Choral: Wenn Ich Einmal Soll Scheiden
6 Rezitativ: Und Siehe de, Der Vorhang Im Tempel Zerriss
7 Rezitativ: Am Abend, Da Es Kar
8 Arie: Mache Dich, Mein Herze, Rein
9 Rezitativ: Und Joseph Nahm Den Leib
10 Rezitativ: Nun Ist Der Herr Zur Ruh Gebracht
11 Chor: Wir Setzen Uns Mit TRN Nieder
12 (Keine Angaben) (Data Track)

View full details