Skip to product information
1 of 2




Regular price $23.99 USD
Regular price $29.99 USD Sale price $23.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Bill Evans is widely considered to be one of the greatest jazz pianists of all time. Evans' use of impressionist harmony, inventive interpretation of traditional jazz repertoire, block chords, and trademark rhythmically independent, "singing" melodic lines continue to resonate today. Born in Plainfield, New Jersey on 16 August 1929, Evans was classically trained and studied at Southeastern Louisiana University. In 1955 he moved to New York, where he worked with bandleader and theorist George Russell. In 1958, Evans joined Miles Davis' sextet, where he was to have a profound influence. In 1959, the band, then immersed in modal jazz, recorded Kind of Blue, the best-selling jazz album of all time. In late 1959, Evans left the Miles Davis band and began his career as a leader with Scott LaFaro and Paul Motian, a group now regarded as a seminal modern jazz trio. In 1961, ten days after recording the highly acclaimed Sunday at the Village Vanguard and Waltz for Debby, LaFaro died in a car accident. After months of seclusion, Evans re-emerged with a new trio, featuring bassist Chuck Israels. Despite his success, Evans suffered personal loss and struggled with drug abuse. Both his girlfriend Elaine and his brother Harry committed suicide, and he was a long time user of heroin. Many of his compositions have become standards and have been played and recorded by many artists. Evans was honored with 31 Grammy nominations and seven awards, and was inducted in the Down Beat Jazz Hall of Fame. This compilation contains Evans' first 12 albums as leader covering the years 1956 - when he recorded and released his debut record New Jazz Conceptions featuring the original version of his most covered track 'Waltz For Debby' - through to his seminal Empathy album in 1962. Generally considered in jazz circles as the period in which Evans' star shone brightest and the era of his finest work, this 6CD set is as close to the perfect Bill Evans collection as is currently available.

Disc: 1
1. I Love You
2. Five
3. I Got It Bad And That Ain'T Good
4. Conception
5. Easy Living
6. Displacement
7. Speak Low
8. Waltz For Debby
9. Our Delight
10. My Romance
11. No Cover, No Minimum
12. Minority
13. Young And Foolish
14. Lucky To Be Me
15. Night And Day
16. Peace Piece
17. What Is There To Say
18. Epilogue

Disc: 2
1. Honeysuckle Rose
2. As Time Goes By
3. The Way You Look Tonight
4. It Could Happen To You
5. The Man I Love
6. I Got Rhythm
7. Come Rain Or Come Shine
8. Autumn Leaves
9. Witchcraft
10. Peri'S Scope
11. What Is This Thing Called Love
12. Spring Is Here
13. Someday My Prince Will Come
14. Blue In Green

Disc: 3
1. Israel
2. Haunted House
3. Beautiful Love
4. Elsa
5. Nardis
6. How Deep Is The Ocean
7. I Wish I Knew
8. Sweet And Lovely
9. Gloria'S Step
10. My Man'S Gone Now
11. Solar
12. Alice In Wonderland
13. All Of You
14. Jade Visions

Disc: 4
1. My Foolish Heart
2. Waltz For Debby
3. Detour Ahead
4. My Romance
5. Some Other Time
6. Milestones
7. My Funny Valentine
8. I Hear A Rhapsody
9. Dream Gypsy
10. Romain
11. Skating In Central Park
12. Darn That Dream

Disc: 5
1. Re: Person I Knew
2. Polka Dots And Moonbeams
3. Let'S Fall In Love Too Easily
4. Stairway To The Stars
5. If You Could See Me Now
6. It Might As Well Be Spring
7. In Love In Vain
8. Very Early
9. You And The Night And The Music
10. When You Wish Upon A Star
11. I'Ll Never Smile Again
12. Interplay
13. You Go To My Head
14. Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams

Disc: 6
1. The Washington Twist
2. Danny Boy
3. Let'S Go Back To The Waltz
4. With A Song In My Heart
5. Goodbye
6. I Believe In You
7. How My Heart Sings
8. I Should Care
9. In Your Own Sweet Way
10. Walking Up
11. Summertime
12. 34 Skidoo
13. Ev'Rything I Love
14. Show-Type Tune

View full details