Skip to product information
1 of 2





Regular price $0.00 USD
Regular price $0.00 USD Sale price $0.00 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Pioneering guitarist Cristiano Porqueddu follows his fascinating set of Novecento Guitar Preludes – released on Brilliant Classics in 2012 and hailed by MusicWeb International as ‘a most compelling collection [where] the guitar is placed on a par with other classical instruments: something to be treated seriously’ – with this equally intriguing selection of 20th-century guitar sonatas. Featuring a wealth of world premiere recordings, the collection is yet another showcase for Porqueddu’s spirit of adventure.

Once again, Porqueddu takes us on a colourful journey that passes through all kinds of different styles and moods: from Gilbert Biberian’s fusion of traditional formal structures with the dance and folk music of the Middle East to Franco Cavallone’s four sonatas that are inspired by such diverse influences as Ravel, Ponce, Bernstein and the 20th-century Italian composers Frazzi and Lupi; from Angelo Gilardino’s evocative sonatas that recall great Italian paintings and warm Mediterranean winter days to Georges Migot’s refined and virtuosic sonata, to name just a few examples. And one of the many world premiere recordings featured here is an exciting new sonata by Porqueddu himself.

Cristiano Porqueddu, described as "a point of reference for the new generation of guitarists", graduated from the Lorenzo Perosi International Academy in Biella, Italy. With an extensive knowledge of the technique and interpretation of 19th- and 20th-century music, he has won numerous international awards and now sits on the jury of several major guitar competitions. Porqueddu has made many acclaimed recordings for Brilliant Classics.

Other information:
- A fascinating survey of 20th century sonatas written for solo guitar, including 13 world premiere recordings.
- Another great and original project of guitarist Cristiano Porqueddu, “a point of Reference for the new generation of guitarists”, bringing together a wide range of guitar sonatas by Baev, Biberian, Porqueddu, Cavallone,Manén, Migot, Gilardino, Rózsa. A journey through wildly differing styles, from Impressionism to Expressionism, from the simple to the complex, from the folkloristic and descriptive to absolute music.
- “A most compelling collection placing the guitar on absolute par with other classical instruments-something to be treated seriously”, wrote Musicweb about Porqueddu’s collection of Novecento Guitar Preludes, and that applies also to this new set of sonatas, an important collection for scholars, guitarists and music lovers alike.
- Booklet features extensive work-by-work liner notes and artist biography.


Disk 1

1Gilbert Biberian: Sonata No. 1: I. Allegretto

2Gilbert Biberian: Sonata No. 1: II. Lento

3Gilbert Biberian: Sonata No. 1: III. Allegretto

4Gilbert Biberian: Sonata No. 2: I. Allegro

5Gilbert Biberian: Sonata No. 2: II. Adagio

6Gilbert Biberian: Sonata No. 2: III. Paseos y Fuga. Allegro

7Gilbert Biberian: Sonata No. 3

8Gilbert Biberian: Sonata No. 4
Disk 2

1Franco Cavallone: Sonata No. 1: I. Allegro moderato

2Franco Cavallone: Sonata No. 1: II. Adagietto ritmico

3Franco Cavallone: Sonata No. 1: III. Allegro moderato

4Franco Cavallone: Sonata No. 2: I. Moderato

5Franco Cavallone: Sonata No. 2: II. Adagio non troppo

6Franco Cavallone: Sonata No. 2: III. Allegro

7Franco Cavallone: Sonata No. 3: I. Moderato

8Franco Cavallone: Sonata No. 3: II. Lento ma teso

9Franco Cavallone: Sonata No. 3: III. Allegro

10Franco Cavallone: Sonata No. 4: I. Allegro moderato

11Franco Cavallone: Sonata No. 4: II. Andante

12Franco Cavallone: Sonata No. 4: III. Andante mosso
Disk 3

1Georges Migot: Sonate pour guitare: I. Prélude

2Georges Migot: Sonate pour guitare: II. Allant

3Georges Migot: Sonate pour guitare: III. Andante

4Georges Migot: Sonate pour guitare: IV. Final

5Evgeny Anatolyevich Baev: Sonata No. 1 (Allegro - Andantino - Allegretto)

6Joan Manén: Fantasia-Sonata Op. A=22

7Alfred Uhl: Sonata Classica: I. Vivo

8Alfred Uhl: Sonata Classica: II. Andante, molto espressivo

9Alfred Uhl: Sonata Classica: III. Allegro con brio

10Alfred Uhl: Sonata Classica: IV. Animato

11Alfred Uhl: Sonata Classica: IV. Allegro (New Version)
Disk 4

1Angelo Gilardino: Sonata No. 1: I. Allegro mariziale

2Angelo Gilardino: Sonata No. 1: II. Andante

3Angelo Gilardino: Sonata No. 1: III. Andantino quasi allegretto

4Angelo Gilardino: Sonata No. 1: IV. Moderato assai ritmico

5Angelo Gilardino: Sonata No. 2 “Hivern Florit”: I. Allegretto semplice

6Angelo Gilardino: Sonata No. 2 “Hivern Florit”: II. Andante molto tranquillo quasi adagio

7Angelo Gilardino: Sonata No. 2 “Hivern Florit”: III. Allegro vivo e brillante

8Cristiano Porqueddu: Sonata No. 1 “Des couleurs sur la toile”: I. Les fleurs imaginaires

9Cristiano Porqueddu: Sonata No. 1 “Des couleurs sur la toile”: II. Chanson au crépuscule

10Cristiano Porqueddu: Sonata No. 1 “Des couleurs sur la toile”: III. La terre de lumières

11Miklós Rózsa: Sonata for Guitar, Op. 42: I. Moderato

12Miklós Rózsa: Sonata for Guitar, Op. 42: II. Molto moderato, quasi una canzone

13Miklós Rózsa: Sonata for Guitar, Op. 42: III. Allegro frenetico
Disk 5

1Angelo Gilardino: Sonata Mediterranea: I. I Cipressi

2Angelo Gilardino: Sonata Mediterranea: II. Ninna Nanna

3Angelo Gilardino: Sonata Mediterranea: III. Pini sul mare

4Angelo Gilardino: Sonata del Guadalquivir: I. Memorias

5Angelo Gilardino: Sonata del Guadalquivir: II. Leyendas

6Angelo Gilardino: Sonata del Guadalquivir: III. Lejanías

7Angelo Gilardino: Sonata di Lagonegro: I. Delle Campane

8Angelo Gilardino: Sonata di Lagonegro: II. Lauda in Santa Maria degli Angeli

9Angelo Gilardino: Sonata di Lagonegro: III. Levantina

View full details