Gene Harris & The Three Sounds: The Ultimate Blue Note Collection (4 CDs)

Gene Harris & The Three Sounds: The Ultimate Blue Note Collection (4 CDs)

Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

This collection concentrates on Harris's lengthy period working with The Three Sounds (a.k.a. The 3 Sounds) the American jazz piano trio that formed in 1956 and disbanded in 1973. They got together initially in Benton Harbour, Michigan, as the Four Sounds. The original line-up consisted of Gene Harris on piano, Andrew Simpkins on double bass and Bill Dowdy on drums, along with saxophonist Lonnie "The Sound" Walker, who dropped out the following year. The group moved to Washington and then New York, where, as the Three Sounds, they cut a record for Riverside Records, before signing an exclusive contract with Blue Note. Between 1958 and 1962, the group released eight albums for Blue Note. They toured nationally during this period, building a large following in jazz clubs across the country. The trio played and recorded with the likes of saxophonists Lester Young, Lou Donaldson, Stanley Turrentine and Sonny Stitt, cornet player Nat Adderley, singer Anita O'Day, and guitarist Bucky Pizzarelli, among others. This dynamic boxed set includes all eight of these early albums by The Three Sounds, and includes such classic records as Introducing The 3 Sounds (Blue Note, 1958), Bottoms Up (Blue Note, 1959) Moods (Blue Note, 1960), Feelin' Good (Blue Note, 1961) and Hey There (Blue Note, 1962). Despite the group continuing as a trio until 1973, they initially left Blue Note in 1963, and despite re-signing with the label in 1967, their first tenure with the label is generally considered the group's golden years. There were of course many moments of glory still to come on labels such as Verve, Limelight, Mercury and of course during their second tenure with Blue Note. But for both newcomers to Gene Harris and The Three Notes, as well as those ready versed but in need of a delightful reminder of this trio's majestic sound, fans need go no further than this 4 CD Collection which displays perfectly the Three Sounds at their very finest.

- Disc 1 -
1 Tenderly
2 Willow Weep for Me
3 Both Sides
4 Blue Bells
5 It's Nice
6 Goin' Home
7 Would'n You
8 O Sole Mio
9 Besame Mucho
10 Angel Eyes
11 Time After Time
12 Love Walked in
13 I Could Write a Book
14 Jinne Lou
15 Nothing Ever Changes My Love for You
16 Falling in Love with Love

- Disc 2 -
1 Robbin's Nest
2 Don't Blame Me
3 St. Thomas
4 Down the Track
5 Tracy's Blues
6 That's All
7 Satin Doll
8 Soft Winds
9 Love for Sale
10 Things Ain't What They Used to Be
11 On Green Dolphin Street
12 Loose Walk
13 Li'l Darlin'
14 I'm Beginning to See the Light
15 Tammy's Breeze

- Disc 3 -
1 When I Fall in Love
2 Parker's Pad
3 Blues After Dark
4 I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
5 Straight, No Chaser
6 I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart
7 It Could Happen to You
8 Two Bass Hit
9 Now's the Time
10 Summertime
11 Here We Come
12 Just Squeeze Me
13 Broadway
14 Our Love Is Here to Stay
15 Poinciana
16 Sonnymoon for Two

- Disc 4 -
1 Sermonette
2 You Are My Sunshine
3 Little Girl Blue
4 Dap's Groove
5 Hey There
6 Nothin' But the Blues
7 Stompin' at the Savoy
8 Street of Dreams
9 The Masquerade Is Over
10 I Want a Little Girl
11 Gee Baby, Ain't I Good to You
12 Blue Riff
13 Since I Fell for You
14 Willow Weep for Me