James Moody: Complete Argo Collection (4 CDs)

James Moody: Complete Argo Collection (4 CDs)

Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Born in Savannah, Georgia, on March 25th 1925, future jazz-man James Moody was raised by his (single) mother, Ruby Hann Moody Watters, alongside his brother, Louis. Growing up in Newark, New Jersey, Moody was attracted to the saxophone after hearing George Holmes Tate, Don Byas, and various other saxophonists who played with Count Basie; he later also took up the flute. A hugely respected musician and arranger, Moody occasionally performed as a vocalist too. He played predominantly in the bebop and hard bop styles, during a lengthy career in jazz, which began in 1945 when he joined Dizzy Gillespie's band, and which continued until his death in 2010 at the age of 85, the same year he released his final album Moody 4B (IPO Records, 2010). In the early years of the third millennium, Moody was met with a resurgence of interest from acid-jazz aficionados, and later, after the sadly late Amy Winehouse championed Moody and performed a number of his tunes, including, most notably, a noble version the great man's arrangement of 'Moody's Mood For Love', his esteem grew greater still. This 4CD set features James Moody's entire recorded output for the Argo label, made between 1957 and 1964, the period during which the jazz maverick made his finest ever music and displayed his best playing. A perfect collection for those new to Moody's music, this collection will also be welcomed by those already versed, as a fine reminder of the best work of this most unique jazz player

- Disc 1 -
1 Last Train from Overbrook
2 Don't Worry About Me
3 Why Don't You
4 What's New
5 Tico Tico
6 There She Goes
7 All the Things You Are
8 Brother Yusef
9 Yvonne
10 The Moody One
11 Darben the Redd Foxx
12 Little Girl Blue
13 Out of Nowhere
14 Daahoud
15 Yesterdays
16 Cookie
17 With Malice Towards None
18 R.B.Q

- Disc 2 -
1 Stella By Starlight
2 Indian Summer
3 Don't Blame Me
4 Last Train from Overbrook
5 Please Say Yes
6 Blue Jubilee
7 Woody'n You
8 Trouble in de Lowlands
9 Summertime
10 Tali
11 Dorothee
12 Love for Sale
13 Another Day
14 All My Life
15 I'm Old Fashioned
16 Fools Rush in
17 Somerset
18 I Remember Clifford
19 Love Walked in
20 A Song of Love
21 Dorian Mood

- Disc 3 -
1 The Jazz Twist
2 One for Nat
3 Bunny Boo
4 Moody Flooty
5 It Might As Well Be Spring
6 Disappointed
7 Sister Sadie
8 Little Buck
9 Home Fries
10 Sassy Lady
11 Ally (Parts 1, 2, 3)
12 Spastic
13 Minuet in G
14 Cup Bearers
15 The Day After
16 Pleyel D'jamie

- Disc 4 -
1 Great Day
2 The Search
3 Let's Try
4 One Never Knows
5 Opal'esque
6 Blues Impromptu
7 Malice Towards None
8 In Other Words (Fly Me to the Moon)
9 Dizzy
10 Autumn Leaves
11 Ole
12 Sonnymoon for Two
13 I've Grown Accustomed to Your Face
14 Zanzibar
15 Please Send Me Someone to Love