Skip to product information
1 of 1


MEL TORME - Four Classic Albums (Mel Torme With The Marty Paich Dek-Tette / Mel Torme Swings Shubert Alley / Torme / I Dig The Duke. I Dig The Count)

MEL TORME - Four Classic Albums (Mel Torme With The Marty Paich Dek-Tette / Mel Torme Swings Shubert Alley / Torme / I Dig The Duke. I Dig The Count)


Regular price $8.99 USD
Regular price $12.99 USD Sale price $8.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
AVID Jazz continues with its Four Classic Album series with a re-mastered 2CD set release from Mel Torme, complete with original artwork, liner notes and personnel details
“Mel Torme With The Marty Paich Dek-tette”; “Mel Torme Swings Shubert Alley”; “Torme” and “I Dig The Duke, I Dig The Count”
What a great voice this guy had! Don’t let the square looks fool you, this fellow was cool. Mel had been a child prodigy and went on to write his first hit at the age of sixteen when his song “Lament In Love” was recorded by Harry James. In the early 1940’s he drummed for the Chico Marx band and later formed a vocal group, The Mel –Tones which would become an influence on later jazz vocal groups such as Lambert, Hendricks and Ross, The Four Freshmen and Manhattan Transfer. By 1947 he had begun his solo career as a jazz singer and in the mid 1950s began a highly successful collaboration with Marty Paich. We feature three of his classics on our fine set. Our final selection features Mel paying tribute to jazz greats Duke Ellington and Count Basie, how could he go wrong. Settle back and be astonished by the fabulous singing style of Mr Mel Torme. Oh and did you know he wrote over 250 songs and one of them was the famous Christmas hit “The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire)” which he always said was his annuity! Try our two Four Classic Marty Paich albums on AMSC1168 and AMSC1173.

1-12: ‘Mel Tormé With The Marty Paich Dek-tette’
1. Lulu’s Back In Town
2. When The Sun Comes Out
3. I Love To Watch The Moonlight
4. Fascinating Rhythm
5. The Blues
6. The Carioca
7. The Lady Is A Tramp
8. I Like To Recognise The Tune
9. Keepin’ Myself For You
10. Lullaby Of Birdland
11. When April Comes Again
12. Sing For Your Supper
13-24: ‘Mel Tormé Swings Shubert Alley’
13. Too Close For Comfort
14. Once In Love With Amy
15. A Sleepin’ Bee
16. On The Street Where You Live
17. All I Need Is The Girl
18. Just In Time
19. Hello Young Lovers
20. The Surrey With The Fringe On Top
21. The Old Devil Moon
22. Whatever Lola Wants
23. Too Darn Hot
24. Lonely Town

1-12: ‘Tormé’
1. That Old Feeling
2. Gloomy Sunday
3. Body And Soul
4. Nobody’s Heart
5. I Should Care
6. The House Is Haunted (By The Echo Of Your Last Goodbye)
7. Blues In The Night
8. I Don’t Want To Cry Anymore
9. Where Can I Go Without You
10. How Did She Look
11. ‘Round Midnight
12. I’m Gonna Laugh You Out Of My Life
13-24: ‘I Dig The Duke, I Dig The Count’
13. I’m Gonna Go Fishin’
14. Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
15. I Like The Sunrise
16. Take The “A” Train
17. Reminiscing In Tempo
18. Just A Sittin’ And A Rockin’
19. Down For Double
20. I’m Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town
21. Blue And Sentimental
22. Oh What A Night For Love
23. Sent For You Yesterday (And Here You Come Today)
24. In The Evening (When The Sun Goes Down)
View full details