Skip to product information
1 of 2


Alfred Brendel In Portrait (2 DVD)

Alfred Brendel In Portrait (2 DVD)

Regular price $2.99 USD
Regular price $19.99 USD Sale price $2.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Alfred Brendel, an artist described as the greatest living pianist, gives a once in a lifetime access into his private world. This double DVD set includes:

RECITAL: Featuring Haydn - Piano Sonata in E flat major, Hob XVI/49, Mozart - Piano Sonata in C minor, K45 and Schubert - Impromptu No. 3 in G flat, D 899.

DOCUMENTARY: In an illuminating documentary that chronicles his childhood and early influences, Alfred Brendel reveals his stature as an international performer, displays his admiration for the work of other artists and gives rare insights into his ideas and philosophy.

Number of Discs:

Dolby Surround; Dolby Stereo


"A wonderfully warm and detailed picture of the great pianist...a superlative production throughout...Brendel in Portrait is an exemplary DVD." (Billboard)

"Mr Brendel's playing is that of a connoisseur; at every turn, you feel his obsessive interest in how the beautiful thing has been put together, in what makes it tick." (New York Observer)

"An exceptional DVD." (Répertoire)

"... masterly performances ..." (Gramophone)

"The content is top drawer...the presentation is excellent too..." (What DVD)

Alfred Brendel reads his own witty and self-revelatory poetry. An inspiring conversation at the piano, in which Sir Simon Rattle and Alfred Brendel discuss the fine detail of Beethoven's Piano Concertos Nos 2 & 3.

View full details