Skip to product information
1 of 1


PEGGY LEE - Four Classic Albums (2 CDS)

PEGGY LEE - Four Classic Albums (2 CDS)


Regular price $8.99 USD
Regular price $12.99 USD Sale price $8.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
AVID Jazz continues with its Four Classic Album series with a re-mastered 2 CD release from Peggy Lee, complete with original artwork, liner notes and personnel details
“Dream Street”; “The Man I Love”; “Jump For Joy” and “Blues Cross Country’”
At last, the wait is over, we hear you cry! AVID have finally inducted Miss Peggy Lee into the 4 Classic Albums “hall of fame”! Ok so we have taken our time in paying tribute to the great lady, but we wanted to get it right, we wanted to select the best albums that truly captured Miss Lee’s huge vocal talents. Peggy Lee spent most of her recording career at Capitol Records which she joined in 1947. She had a short break between 1952-56 where she recorded for Decca, and ironically made one of her greatest albums “Black Coffee” (AVC876). We feature three albums for her Capitol years, a couple of classics arranged by the legendary Nelson Riddle, “Jump For Joy” and “The Man I Love” which also features conducting duties by that other rather famous Capitol Records artist, Mr Frank Sinatra! These two are joined by another classic “concept” album “Blues Cross Country” arranged and conducted by Quincy Jones. To round off our selections we feature the extraordinarily intimate “Dream Street” recorded by Peggy for Decca in 1956. And if you need any further proof of the regard Peggy Lee was held in by the jazz fraternity, take a look at some of the names that appear on our selections. Harry “Sweets” Edison, Pete Condoli, Mel Lewis, Shorty Rogers, Bud Shank, Bob Cooper, Bill Perkins, Lou Levy, Max Bennett, Benny Carter and Buddy Collette. Oh and did we mention Nelson Riddle, Frank Sinatra and Quincy Jones?!

1-12: ‘Dream Street’
1. Street of Dreams
2. What’s New
3. You’re Blase
4. It’s Alright With Me
5. My Old Flame
6. Dancing On The Ceiling
7. It Never Entered My Mind
8. Too Late Now
9. I’ve Grown Accustomed To His Face
10. Something I Dreamed Last Night
11. Last Night When We Were Young
12. So Blue
13-24: ‘The Man I Love’
13. The Man I Love
14. Please Be Kind
15. Happiness Is A Thing Called Joe
16. Just One Way To Say I Love You
17. That’s All
18. Something Wonderful
19. He’s My Guy
20. Then I’ll Be Tired Of You
21. My Heart Stood Still
22. If I Should Lose You
23. There Is No Greater Love
24. The Folks Who Live On The Hill

1-12: ‘Jump For Joy’
1. Jump For Joy
2. Back In Your Own Back Yard
3. When My Sugar Walks Down The Street
4. I Hear Music
5. Just In Time
6. Old Devil Moon
7. What A Little Moonlight Can Do
8. Four Or Five Times
9. Music! Music! Music!
10. Cheek To Cheek
11. The Glory Of Love
12. Ain’t We Got Fun
13-24: ‘Blues Cross Country’
13. Kansas City
14. Basin Street Blues
15. Los Angeles Blues
16. I Lost My Sugar In Salt Lake City
17. The Grain Belt Blues
18. New York City Blues
19. Goin’ To Chicago Blues
20. San Francisco Blues
21. Fisherman’s Wharf
22. Boston Beans
23. The Train Blues
24. St. Louis Blues
View full details