Skip to product information
1 of 2


SIDNEY BECHET - Five Classic Albums Plus (2 CDS)

SIDNEY BECHET - Five Classic Albums Plus (2 CDS)

Regular price $9.99 USD
Regular price $14.99 USD Sale price $9.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
AVID Jazz continues its Five Classic album plus series with a re-mastered 2CD second release from Sidney Bechet complete with original artwork and liner notes.
“On Parade”; “Ambiance”; “Deux Heures Du Matin Au Vieux-Colombier” ; “Rendez-vous” and “Bechet Revient” plus Airs Du Film ‘Serie Noire’ EP; Un Ange Comme Ca EP and L’Inspecteur Connait La Musique EP
As jazz legends go, they don’t come much bigger than the master clarinettist and soprano saxophonist, Sidney Bechet. Bechet’s story is, of course, well known to all jazz fans, born in New Orleans, recording with Clarence Williams in 1923, even before the great Louis Armstrong, playing with all the greats including Freddie Keppard, Bunk Johnson and King Oliver. Arrested in the UK for assault, returned to the States, left again for a world tour which included Russia before settling in France (where he also served 11 months for assault). And all the while making outstanding music and largely on his own, often very forceful terms. By the time the LP’s and EP’s on this second AVID set were recorded, Bechet had become something of an icon in France, his fame having spread far beyond the coterie of jazz lovers who were his core fans. His image was even used on an expensive brand of chocolates, as well as other merchandise. Bechet’s own compositional skills are to the fore on a number of the sides on this two CD set, including Petite Fleur, a big hit for Bechet and a few years later a million seller for Chris Barber - as well as the suitably moody “Temperamental” and the beautiful “Jacqueline” which Bechet composed in honour of his mistress.

1-8: ‘On Parade’
1. Le Marchand De Poissons
2. Si Tu Vois Ma Mère
3. Wabash Blues
4. Dans Les Rues d’Antibes
5. Strike Up The Band
6. As-Tu Le Cafard?
7. Pattes De Mouche
8. Ghost Of The Blues
9-16: ‘Ambiance’
9. It’s No Sin
10. Because Of You
11. That Old Black Magic
12. I Get A Kick Out Of You
13. You’re Lucky To Me
14. Petite Fleur
15. Girl’s Dance
16. Blues
17-24: ‘Deux Heures Du Matin Au Vieux-Colombier’
17. Porter Love Song
18. Embraceable You
19. 12th Street Rag
20. Au Clair De La Lune
21. Ol’ Man River
22. Show Boat Medley
23. You Rascal You
24. Le Loup, La Biche Et Le Chevalier

1-8: ‘Rendez-Vous’
1. La Complainte Des Infideles
2. Brave Margot
3. Jacqueline
4. La Canne-Le Fossoyeur
5. Big Chief
6. Nuages
7. Elizabeth II
8. Pleure Pas Nelly
9-16: ‘Bechet Revient’
9. Rose De Picardie
10. Temperamental
11. When I Grow Too Old To Dream
12. Leilie
13. La Complainte De Mackie (Mack The Knife)
14. Le Chant Des Canons
15. Some Sweet Day
16. Chante Chante
17. A Moi d’Payer from Airs Du Film “Serie Noire” (EP)
18. Blues Dans Le Blues from Airs Du Film “Serie Noire” (EP)
19. Trottoirs De Paris from Airs Du Film “Serie Noire” (EP)
20. Pourtant from Airs Du Film “Serie Noire” (EP)
21. Un Ange Comme Ça from Un Ange Comme Ça (EP)
22. South Rampart Street Parade from Un Ange Comme Ça (EP)
23. Halle Hallelujah / Les Hommes Sont Géréreux / L’Enchainée d’Amour / Le Blues De Mes Réves / Halle Hallelujah from L’Inspecteur Connait La Musique (EP)
24. Halle Hallelujah / I Had It But It’s All Gone Now / Blues / Halle Hallelujah from L’Inspecteur Connait La Musique (EP)
View full details