Skip to product information
1 of 2





Regular price $9.99 USD
Regular price $11.99 USD Sale price $9.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Conductor – Marco Armiliato
Orchestra – Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Soprano Vocals – Angela Gheorghiu

Homage to Maria Callas is a collection of beloved French and Italian operatic masterpieces performed by Angela Gheorghiu, the defining diva of this century. The program is inspired by the career and recordings of Maria Callas, the greatest diva of the last century. The arias are shared favorites of both Callas and Gheorghiu, and Angela's new recording demonstrates once again her extraordinary vocal and emotional range. Angela Gheorghiu said recently, "Callas was original in everything she did; she was a phenomenon. In every performance she gave her all. She was the most wonderful painter and you can always hear exactly the right colour in her voice. Just hearing her sound, you understand all the power or fragility of her emotions. That's a rare talent and a great gift." Gheorghiu continued, "EMI was her record label and it's mine too. It feels like a family". Recorded in London and in New York, the repertoire of Gheorghiu's first studio recital in six years (during which time she recorded several complete operas, including a multiaward- winning Madama Butterfly, shows her versatility in lyric, spinto and mezzo roles, with each of which she feels a strong emotional connection. Three versions of Angela Gheorghiu - Homage to Maria Callas offer music lovers a choice of material. * Deluxe Edition comprises a CD encased in a hardcover book containing an essay from Angela in three languages, a gallery of glamorous new photos and exclusive access to a video and mini-feature on the making of the CD.

1 Donde Lieta Usci (Puccini: La Boheme) 3:13
2 Jewel Song (Gounod: Faust) 4:53
3 Col Sorriso D'innocenza (Bellini: Il Pirata) 4:03
4 Qual Fiamma Avea Nel Guardo!..Stridono Lassu (Leoncavallo: Pagliacci) 4:51
5 Mon Coeur S'ouvre A Ta Voix (Saint-Säens: Samson Et Dalila) 5:39
6 Ebben? Ne Andro Lontana (Catalani: La Wally) 3:42
7 Habanera: L'amour Est Un Oiseau Rebelle (Bizet: Carmen) 4:11
8 La Mamma Morta (Giordano: Andrea Chenier) 5:12
9 Dei Tuoi Figli La Madre (Cherubini: Medea) 4:43
10 Pleurez, Mes Yeux! (Massenet: Le CID) 5:37
11 Poveri Fiori (Cilea: Adriana Lecouvreur) 3:32
12 E Strano!...Ah Fors'e Lui Che L'anima (Verdi: La Traviata) 8:26
13 Follie! Follie!...Sempre Libera ( Verdi: La Traviata) 4:35

View full details