Beethoven: Complete String Quartets Vol. 3 "Apotheosis" -

Beethoven: Complete String Quartets Vol. 3 "Apotheosis" -


Regular price $30.99 USD
Regular price $57.57 USD Sale price $30.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Cuarteto Casals

After Inventions, Apotheosis is the third and last volume in a complete set of the Beethoven quartets that breaks new ground: it aims to regroup the works according to their position within the three broad creative divisions of the composer’s life – the formative years, the ‘heroic’ period and the ‘late’ period. This programme assembles the ‘late’ quartets in a new sense, in other words those works in which the stylistic innovations of each of these creative periods reach their full flowering.

Disc 1

String Quartet no.5, op.18 no.5
A major/La majeur/A-Dur

1I. Allegro 9'22
2II. Menuetto - Trio 4'22
3III. Andante cantabile con variazioni 8'18
4IV. Allegro 6'29
String Quartet no.6, op.18 no.6
B flat major/Si bémol majeur/B-Dur

5I. Allegro con brio 8'08
6II. Adagio ma non troppo 6'15
7III. Scherzo. Allegro. Trio 3'18
8IV. 'La Malinconia'. Adagio 3'04
9V. Allegretto quasi Allegro - Adagio - Allegretto 4'30
Disc 2

String Quartet no.11 'Serioso', op.95
F minor/fa mineur/f-Moll

1I. Allegro con brio 4'10
2II. Allegretto ma non troppo 6'39
3III. Allegro assai vivace ma serioso - Trio 4'00
4IV. Larghetto espressivo - Allegretto agitato 4'16
String Quartet no.14, op.131
C sharp minor/ut dièse mineur/cis-Moll

5I. Adagio ma non troppo e molto espressivo 6'45
6II. Allegro molto vivace 2'51
7III. Allegro moderato - Adagio0'49
8IV. Andante ma non troppo e molto cantabile 12'20
9V. Presto 4'55
10VI. Adagio quasi un poco andante 1'48
11VII. Allegro 6'25
Disc 3

String Quartet no.13, op.130
B flat major/Si bémol majeur/B-Dur

1I. Adagio ma non troppo 13'01
2II. Presto 1'52
3III. Andante con moto ma non troppo 6'32
4IV. Alla danza tedesca. Allegro assai 3'01
5V. Cavatina. Adagio molto espressivo 6'17
6'Grosse Fuge', String Quartet, op.133
B flat major/Si bémol majeur/B-Dur
Overtura. Allegro - Allegro - Fuga 15'48
7String Quartet no.13, op.130
B flat major/Si bémol majeur/B-Dur
VI.Finale.Allegro 9'32

View full details