Betty Carter: The Classic Recordings (3 CDs)

Betty Carter: The Classic Recordings (3 CDs)

Regular price
Sale price
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Born Lillie Mae Jones on May 19, 1929, the woman who became Betty Carter was an American jazz singer known best for her improvisational technique, scatting and other complex musical abilities that demonstrated her vocal talent and imaginative interpretation of lyrics and melodies. Vocalist Carmen McRae once remarked: "There's really only one jazz singer-only one: Betty Carter." This triple disc collection features seven of Betty Carter's original albums from the earliest part of her solo-recording career, made between 1956 and 1964. Representing Carter's finest work of all, the collection is the perfect choice for both those new to this stunning vocalist and performer's greatest music, and for those ready versed in her sublime and timeless sounds.

- Disc 1 -
1 Sneaking Around
2 Moonlight in Vermont
3 What Is This Thing Called Love?
4 Thou Swell
5 Willow Weep for Me
6 I Could Write a Book
7 Threesome
8 Gone with the Wind
9 Old Devil Moon
10 The Way You Look Tonight
11 No Moon at All
12 Can't We Be Friends?
13 Tell Him I Said Hello
14 Social Call
15 Runaway
16 Frenesi
17 Let's Fall in Love
18 You're Driving Me Crazy
19 I Can't Help It
20 By the Bend of the River
21 Babe's Blues
22 Foul Play
23 You're Getting to Be a Habit with Me
24 On the Isle of May
25 But Beautiful
26 All I've Got
27 Make It Last
28 Blue Bird of Happiness
29 Something Wonderful

- Disc 2 -
1 What a Little Moonlight Can Do
2 There's No You
3 I Don't Want to Set the World on Fire
4 Remember
5 My Reverie
6 Mean to Me
7 Don't Weep for the Lady
8 Jazz (Ain't Nothing But Soul)
9 For You
10 Stormy Weather
11 At Sundown
12 On the Alamo
13 Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye
14 You and I
15 Goodbye/We'll Be Together Again
16 People Will Say We're in Love
17 Cocktails for Two
18 Side By Side
19 Baby, It's Cold Outside
20 Together
21 For All We Know
22 Takes Two to Tango
23 Alone Together
24 Just You, Just Me

- Disc 3 -
1 Nothing More to Look Forward to
2 Who What Why Where When
3 Heart and Soul
4 Call Me Darling
5 When I Fall in Love
6 'Round Midnight
7 I Wonder
8 Theme from Dr. Kildare (Three Stars Will Shine Tonight)
9 The Good Life
10 Everybody's Somebody's Fool
11 Two Cigarettes in the Dark
12 Shine on, Harvest Moon
13 One Note Samba
14 This Is Always
15 Look No Further
16 Beware My Heart
17 My Favorite Things
18 Some Other Time
19 Open the Door
20 Spring Can Really Hang You Up the Most
21 Something Big
22 New England
23 The Moon Is Low
24 Once in Your Life
25 It's a Big Wide Wonderful World
26 There Is No Greater Love
27 You're a Sweetheart