Skip to product information
1 of 2


BIG JOE WILLIAMS: Four Classic Albums (2 CDS)

BIG JOE WILLIAMS: Four Classic Albums (2 CDS)

Regular price $8.99 USD
Regular price $14.99 USD Sale price $8.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
AVID Roots continues with its Four Classic Albums series with a re-mastered 2CD set release from Big Joe Williams complete with original artwork, liner notes and personnel details.
“Piney Wood Blues”; “Tough Times”; “Blues On Highway 49” and “Mississippi Big Joe Williams and his Nine String Guitar”
Born in Mississippi in 1903, Delta blues singer Big Joe Williams was perhaps rather overlooked amongst many of the famous bluesmen who came out of the delta in the 1920s and 1930s. Famed for his unique home-made reconstructed 9 string guitar and assortment of home made or home found percussion instruments, Big Joe must have made quite a sight to his audience with swinging beer cans and pie plates dangling around his acoustic guitar and struggling to compete with his extraordinary voice. Big Joe was the epitome of the travelling blues man having left home as a very young man to earn a living busking and playing wherever he could make a buck, from pool halls to bars and taverns and jook joints. He played with the likes of Pettie Wheatstraw, Robert Nighthawk and Sonny Boy Williamson and was even accompanied by a young Muddy Waters on harmonica during his early travels in the 1930s. Unfortunately, he had to let Muddy go as, according to Big Joe, he was taking all of his female fans away from him! Big Joe recorded for many labels during his long career, but it was signing to Bluebird records in 1935 that set him on his path. Helped in no small way by the inclusion of two blues classics in his repertoire “Baby, Please Don’t Go” and “Crawling King Snake” both of course taken up by a later generation in the folk blues revival of the 1960s. Big Joe became a festival favourite during the 1960s blues revival and recorded many fine albums during that time, four of which we are proud to present in this collection. He even got to play with Bob Dylan, or should that be Bob Dylan got to play with him, on some duet tracks for Victoria Spivey’s own record label. Maybe those who live the longest don’t always get the recognition or the cult iconic status of a Blind Blake, Blind Lemon Jefferson, Charlie Patton or Robert Johnson but just take a listen to Big Joe Williams and tell me he doesn’t belong amongst the very great Delta blues men. Please note:- We believe the album “Tough Times” has been unavailable on CD until this release. We are hoping to have the full and extensive liner notes to the album “Mississippi Big Joe Williams and his Nine String Guitar” available on our website shortly. Please go to
Check out:- Muddy Waters / Howlin’ Wolf (AMSC1162); Lightnin’ Hopkins (AMSC1225, AMSC1254 & AMSC1363); Jesse Fuller / Josh White- (AMSC1344); Jimmy Reed (AMSC1214); John Lee Hooker (AMSC1234 & 1382); B.B. King (AMSC1203 & 1387); Lonnie Johnson (AMSC1207); Rev. Gary Davis (AMSC1271); Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee (AMSC1361); T. Bone Walker (AMSC1359); Rural Blues: The Essential Collection (AVC942).

1-12: ‘Piney Woods Blues’
1. Baby, Please Don’t Go
2. Drop Down Mama
3. Mellow Peaches
4. No More Whiskey
5. Tailor Made Babe
6. Big Joe Talking
7. Some Day Baby
8. Good Morning, Little Schoolgirl
9. Peach Orchard Mama
10. Juanita
11. Shetland Pony Blues
12. Omaha Blues
13-24: ‘Tough Times’
13. Sloppy Drunk Blues
14. Yo Yo Blues
15. President Roosevelt
16. Forty Four Blues
17. Greystone Blues
18. I Want My Crown
19. Mean Stepfather
20. Brother James
21. Shake Your Boogie
22. Vitamin A Blues
23. She Left Me A Mule To Ride
24. So Glad

1-12: ‘Blues On Highway 49’
1. Highway 49
2. Poor Beggar
3. Blues Left Texas
4. # 13 Highway
5. Down In The Bottoms
6. Overhaul Your Machine
7. That Thing’s In Town
8. Walk On, Little Girl
9. Tiajuana Blues
10. 45 Blues
11. Arkansas Woman
12. Four Corners Of The World
13-25: ‘Mississippi’s Big Joe Williams And His Nine String Guitar’
13. Whistlin’ Pines
14. Bluebird Blues
15. She’ll Be Coming ‘Round The Mountain
16. Elevate Me Baby
17. Mama Don’t Allow Me To Fool Around All Night Long
18. Kingshighway Blues
19. Somebody’s Been Foolin’ # 1
20. T.B. Blues
21. King Biscuit Stomp
22. Delta Blues
23. Somebody’s Been Foolin’ #3
24. Rootin Ground Hog
25. Don’t Leave Me Here
View full details