Skip to product information
1 of 2


BLOSSOM DEARIE - Four Classic Albums Plus (Blossom Dearie / Blossom Dearie Plays For Dancing / Give Him The Ooh-La-La / Once Upon A Summertime)

BLOSSOM DEARIE - Four Classic Albums Plus (Blossom Dearie / Blossom Dearie Plays For Dancing / Give Him The Ooh-La-La / Once Upon A Summertime)


Regular price $8.99 USD
Regular price $12.99 USD Sale price $8.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Another great one has gone and we at AVID have moved this release forward in our schedule as a tribute to the legendary Miss Blossom Dearie who recently died at the age of 82.
AVID Jazz presents four classic Blossom Dearie albums on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD. Blossom Dearie, Blossom Dearie Plays For Dancing, Give Him The Ooh La La and Once Upon A Summertime, plus for good measure and extra value we have also included 6 tracks from her vocal album Blue Stars Of France and her one track recorded with King Pleasure!
So let’s get one thing out of the way first of all, yes her real name was Blossom Dearie, well actually it was Marguerite Blossom Dearie but she wisely dropped the first name to give herself a fighting chance of being remembered in the highly competitive music business. It seemed to have worked as Blossom’s baby doll voice graced the world’s stages for decades having become a solo singer after spells with Woody Herman and Alvino Rey in the mid 1940’s. Our four classic album selections find Miss Dearie in the company of such great musicians as Roy Brown, Ed Thigpen, Mundell Lowe, Herb Ellis and Jo Jones.
All four albums have been digitally re-mastered for probably the finest sound quality ever!

1-14: ‘Blossom Dearie’
1. Deed I Do
2. Lover Man
3. Everything I’ve Got
4. Comment Allez Vous
5. More Than You Know
6. Thou Swell
7. It Might As Well Be Spring
8. Tout Doucement
9. You For Me
10. Now At Last
11. I Hear Music
12. Wait Till You See Her
13. I Won’t Dance
14. A Fine Spring Morning
15-22: ‘Blossom Dearie Plays For Dancing’
15. The Continental
16. The Boy Next Door
17. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
18. Moonlight Saving Time
19. Surrey With The Fringe On Top
20. April In Paris
21. Blue Moon
22. Down The Depths Of The 90th Floor
23-28: ‘The Blue Stars Of France’
23. Lullabye Of Birdland
24. Embrass Moi Bien
25. Tout Ma Joie (That’s My Girl)
26. La Dance De Baiser (The Kissing Dance)
27. Les Lavendieres Du Portugal
28. En 1920 (In 1920)

1-12: ‘Give Him The Ooh-La-La’
1. Just One Of Those Things
2. Like Someone In Love
3. Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea
4. They Say It’s Spring
5. Try Your Wings
6. Bang Goes The Drum (And Your In Love)
7. The Riviera
8. The Middle Of Love
9. Plus Je T’Embrasse
10. Give Him The Ooh- La-La
11. Let Me Love You
12. I Walk A Little Faster
13-24: ‘Once Upon A Summertime’
13. Tea For Two
14. The Surrey With The Fringe On Top
15. Moonlight Saving Time
16. It Amazes Me
17. If I Were A Bell
18. We’re Together
19. Teach Me Tonight
20. Once Upon A Summer Time
21. Down With Love
22. Manhattan
23. Doop-Doo-De-Doop (A Doodlin’ Song)
24. Love Is Here To Stay
25. I’m In The Mood For Love from King Pleasure Sings
View full details