Skip to product information
1 of 1


BUDDY DE FRANCO - Four Classic Albums Plus (Buddy De Franco / The Artistry Of Buddy De Franco / Mr Clarinet / Pretty Moods)

BUDDY DE FRANCO - Four Classic Albums Plus (Buddy De Franco / The Artistry Of Buddy De Franco / Mr Clarinet / Pretty Moods)


Regular price $8.99 USD
Regular price $12.99 USD Sale price $8.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
AVID Jazz presents four classic Buddy De Franco albums plus, including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
“Buddy De Franco”; “The Artistry of Buddy De Franco”; “Mr. Clarinet”; “Pretty Moods” plus selections from “Jazz Tones”.
Reading the original liner notes from all our classic Buddy De Franco selections one strand of opinion stands out head and shoulders above all others. Since 1945 when he started his long run of Poll Winners victories in Metronome and Downbeat magazines, he had become the new kid on the block a.k.a. Mr Clarinet! All the notes refer to there being only two really fully recognisable giants of the jazz clarinet up to the emergence of Buddy De Franco. Namely, and we are sure you can guess who they are, Benny Goodman and Artie Shaw. Of course there were other great clarinettists around, Noone, Dodds and Russell to name three, but all are agreed that with the emergence of Buddy De Franco a new giant had arrived! Listen to these classic albums where De Franco is joined by the likes of Kenny Drew, Jimmy Raney, Art Blakey, Milt Hinton, Sonny Clark, Gene Wright and Bobby White and you will discover why he was crowned the King of the Clarinet or perhaps more appropriately “Mr. Clarinet”.
All four albums plus have been digitally re-mastered.

1-12: ‘Buddy De Franco’
1. Gone With The Wind
2. Sweet Georgia Brown
3. Street Of Dreams
4. Get Happy
5. Sophisticated Lady
6. Carioca
7. Lover Come Back To Me
8. I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)
9. Just One Of Those Things
10. Cairo
11. Samia Shuffle
12. The Way You Look Tonight
13-18: ‘The Artistry Of Buddy De Franco’
14. You Go To My Head
15. Mine
16. Gerry's Tune
17. Autumn Leaves
18. Now's The Time

1-8: ‘Mr Clarinet’
1. Buddy's Blues
2. Ferdinando
3. It Could Happen To You
4. Autumn In New York
5. Left Field
6. Show Eyes
7. But Not For Me
8. Bass On Balls
9. The Things We Did Last Summer from Jazz Tones
10. Jack The Field Stalker from Jazz Tones
11-15: ‘Pretty Moods’
11. Tenderly
12. Lover Man
13. Deep Purple
14. Yesterdays
15. If I Should Lose You
View full details