Skip to product information
1 of 2


CHARLIE MINGUS - Four Classic Albums Plus (Blues And Roots / Mingus Three: Trio / Jazz Portraits / Jazzical Moods Vol 1) (2 CDs)

CHARLIE MINGUS - Four Classic Albums Plus (Blues And Roots / Mingus Three: Trio / Jazz Portraits / Jazzical Moods Vol 1) (2 CDs)


Regular price $8.99 USD
Regular price $12.99 USD Sale price $8.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
AVID Jazz here presents four classic Charlie Mingus albums plus, including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
“The greatness of jazz is that it is an art of the moment………..particularly through improvisation………..and through the successive relation of one composition to another” So speaks Charlie Mingus in the liner notes for his large band tribute to the blues on “Blues And Roots,” the first of our four albums devoted to the legendary bass player, pianist, composer and arranger. On “Mingus Three” by contrast, Mingus is joined by pianist Hampton Hawes and we can witness the two sparring with each other while Mingus stalwart Dannie Richmond provides the beat in a session from 1957. Forward to 1959 and we find Mingus in concert with his Jazz Workshop at the Nonagon Art Gallery in New York for “Jazz Portraits”. Among a superb band we will discover alto man John Handy in his very first recording date before leaving to form his own band as well as tenor man Booker Ervin again a first timer in the studio. “…..I think I am finally composing” Mingus was heard to say during editing for the album…….he wasn’t wrong! Finally “Jazzical Moods” takes us into the realm of the avant garde where Mingus’ music delves deeper into the emotions using rhythmic, harmonic and emotional conflict to challenge the listener to the point where they may well feel this is not jazz at all!
All four albums plus have been digitally re-mastered for probably the finest sound quality ever!

1-6: ‘Blues And Roots’
1. Wednesday Night Prayer Meeting
2. Cryin’ Blues
3. Moanin’
4. Tensions
5. My Jelly Roll Soul
6. E’s Flat Ah’s Flat Too
7-13: ‘Mingus Three: Trio’
7. Yesterdays
8. Back Home Blues
9. I Can’t Get Started
10. Hamp’s New Blues
11. Summertime
12. Dizzy Moods
13. Laura

1-4: ‘Jazz Portrait’
1. Nostalgia In Times Square
2. I Can’t Get Started
3. No Private Income Blues
4. Alice’s Wonderland
5-8: ‘Jazzical Moods Vol 1’
5. What Is This Thing Called Love
6. Stormy Weather
7. Minor Intrusion
8. Abstractions
9. Thrice Upon A Theme from Jazzical Moods Vol 2
View full details