Skip to product information
1 of 2


DAKOTA STATON - Five Classic Albums (2 CDS)

DAKOTA STATON - Five Classic Albums (2 CDS)

Regular price $9.99 USD
Regular price $14.99 USD Sale price $9.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

AVID Jazz continues with its Five Classic Album series with a re-mastered 2CD release from Dakota Staton complete with original artwork, liner notes and personnel details
“Late Late Show”; “Dynamic!”; “More Than The Most” “ Crazy He Calls Me” and “Time To Swing”
Born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Dakota Staton attended the famed George Westinghouse High School, (alumni include pianist Ahmed Jamal, possibly at the same time!) and went on to study music before entering the music scene through that tried and tested, and very tough route, of the night club circuit. From a young age she was travelling around the country appearing in night clubs from Detroit to Indianapolis to Cleveland and to St. Louis and to Harlem in New York, where she was discovered by Capitol Records producer Dave Cavanaugh who promptly signed her to a recording deal with Capitol. Dakota made many highly acclaimed albums in the 1950’s and 1960’s and we have included five here for your listening pleasure.
There may be more to come!

1-12: ‘The Late Late Show’
1. Broadway
2. Trust In Me
3. Summertime
4. Misty
5. A Foggy Day
6. What Do You See In Her?
7. The Late, Late Show
8. My Funny Valentine
9. Give Me The Simple Life
10. You Showed Me The Way
11. Moonray
12. Ain’t No Use
13-24: ‘Dynamic!’
13. Let Me Off Uptown
14. Night Mist
15. Anything Goes
16. When Sunny Gets Blue
17. They All Laughed
18. I Wonder
19. Say It Ain’t So, Joe
20. Too Close For Comfort
21. Little Girl Blue
22. It Could Happen To You
23. Some Other Spring
24. Cherokee
25-30: ‘More Than The Most!’
25. September In The Rain
26. Walkin’ By The River
27. East Of The Sun
28. I Could Make You Care
29. It’s You Or No One
30. High On A Windy Hill

1-6: ‘More Than The Most!’
1. My Heart Beats Like A Hammer
2. The Crazy Things We Do
3. Some Days It’s Monday
4. The Song Is Ended
5. Good-Bye
6. Love Walked In
7-18: ‘Crazy He Calls Me’
7. Crazy He Calls Me
8. Idaho
9. Invitation
10. Can’t Live Without Him Anymore
11. I Never Dreamt (You’d Fall in Love With Me)
12. The Party’s Over
13. Angel Eyes
14. No Moon At All
15. What Do You Know About Love
16. Morning, Noon Or Night
17. How Does It Feel
18. How High The Moon
19-30: ‘Time To Swing’
19. When Lights Are Low
20. Willow Weep For Me
21. But Not For Me
22. You Don’t Know What Love Is
23. The Best Thing For You
24. The Song Is You
25. Avalon
26. Baby Don’t You Cry
27. Let Me Know
28. Until The Real Thing Comes Along
29. If I Should Lose You
30. Gone With The Wind

View full details