Skip to product information
1 of 2




Regular price $9.99 USD
Regular price $14.99 USD Sale price $9.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

(Stephen Isserlis): "I love his playing. Sebastian Comberti came up with the best description... it was like finding the last member of a lost tribe of cellists. His playing takes you right back to a different era" "(Schubert) Shafran emerges as very able... not as rhythmically wayward as Rostropovich... The finale has an irresistible rhythmic lilt. (Shostakovich) presents a fuller picture of Shafran's artistry. He plays with very serious commitment, considerable tonal variety and technical ease, and has a splendid partner in Lydia Pecherskaya - a very perceptive musician throughout the Schubert too. The charm of the Allegretto is very well caught by both artists" (Haydn): Shafran claimed that his affinity with the concerto began before birth: his father was practicing it when his mother went into labour and was reluctant to take her to the hospital until it was perfect !" (Gramophone)

1 Joseph Haydn: Cello Concerto No. 2 in D Major, Op. 101
2 Schubert: Sonata in a Minor ('Arpeggione')
3 Shostakovich: Cello Sonata, Op. 40
View full details