Skip to product information
1 of 2


Debussy: Piano Music - Stephen Hough

Debussy: Piano Music - Stephen Hough



Regular price $20.99 USD
Regular price $31.98 USD Sale price $20.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Any new recording from Stephen Hough is a keenly awaited musical event. Here his customary ‘scintillating technique’ and ‘imaginative intelligence’ (The Guardian) are deployed in the service of an all-Debussy recital which sets the bar high at this, the start of the composer’s centenary year.

‘Hough begins his disc with the Estampes, a vivid reminder that Debussy loved art as much as music, and Hough similarly paints as well as plays. His 'Pagodes' sets the scene with just the right degree of blurring of the lines, motifs emerging and then receding once more, all combining to ethereal effect. In the closing 'Jardins' his pacing is spot-on’ (Gramophone)

‘Anticipation ran high for this album. And its beauties are many and varied. Whether it’s the gorgeous delicacy with which he orchestrates the different layers of sound in Estampes’ ‘Pagodes’, the louche sinuousness of La plus que lente … or the tenderness of ‘The Little Shepherd’ in Children’s Corner, there’s no doubt that Hough is largely in his element here.’ (BBC Music Magazine)

Estampes L108[14'26]
1 Pagodes[5'25]
2 La soirée dans Grenade[5'26]
3 Jardins sous la pluie[3'35]

Images I L105[14'49]
4 Reflets dans l'eau[4'57]
5 Hommage à Rameau[6'24]
6 Mouvement[3'28]

Images II L120[13'20]
7 Cloches à travers les feuilles[4'05]
8 Et la lune descend sur le temple qui fut[5'14]
9 Poissons d'or[4'01]

Children's Corner L119[15'50]
10 Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum[2'23]
11 Jimbo's lullaby[2'47]
12 Serenade for the doll[2'38]
13 The snow is dancing[2'39]
14 The little shepherd[2'22]
15 Golliwogg's cake-walk[3'01]
16 La plus que lente L128[4'18]
17 L'isle joyeuse L109[6'35]

View full details