Skip to product information
1 of 2


DUKE JORDAN - Three Classic Albums (2 CDs)

DUKE JORDAN - Three Classic Albums (2 CDs)


Regular price $8.99 USD
Regular price $12.99 USD Sale price $8.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
AVID Jazz presents three classic Duke Jordan albums plus including original LP liner notes on a finely re-mastered and low priced double CD.
“Trio & Quintet”; Flight To Jordan” and “Les Liaisons Dangereuses” plus 4 tracks from “Do ItYourself Jazz: Volume 1”.
Our featured man Duke Jordan is featured on the first four tracks from our first selection from the Jazz Laboratory Series “Do It Yourself Jazz: Volume 1” playing alongside Gigi Gryce on alto sax, Oscar Pettiford on bass and Kenny Clarke on drums. For “Trio & Quintet” Duke is joined for the Trio by Percy Heath on bass and Art Blakey on drums. For the Quintet recordings he is again joined by Heath and Blakey but with the addition of Cecil Payne on baritone sax and Eddie Bery on trombone. “Flight To Jordan” is the first album composed entirely of Duke Jordan compositions. As the original liner notes tell us... ”to interpret his work Duke used a carefully selected combo of mutually sympathetic sideman”... Dizzy Reece on trumpet, Stanley Turrentine on tenor sax, Reggie Worman on bass and Art Taylor on drums. Our final selection “Les Liasons Dangereuses” comprises music of the original soundtrack from the motion picture, with music composed and conducted by Duke Jordan.
All three albums plus have been digitally re-mastered

1. Sometimes I’m Happy from Do It Yourself Jazz: Volume 1
2. Embraceable You from Do It Yourself Jazz: Volume 1
3. Jordu from Do It Yourself Jazz: Volume 1
4. Oh Yeah from Do It Yourself Jazz: Volume 1
5-14: ‘Trio & Quintet’
5. Forecast
6. Sultry Eve
7. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
8. Night In Tunisia
9. Summertime
10. Flight To Jordan
11. Two Lovers
12. Cu-Ba
13. Yesterdays
14. Scotch Blues

1-6: ‘Flight To Jordan’
1. Flight To Jordan
2. Star Brite
3. Squawkin’
4. Deacon Joe
5. Split Quick
6. Si-Joya
7-13: ‘Les Liaisons Dangereuses’
7. No Problem (part 1)
8. No Problem (part 2)
9. No Problem (part 3)
10. The Jazz Vendor
11. Subway Inn
12. The Feeling of Love (part 1)
13. The Feeling of Love (part 2)
View full details