Skip to product information
1 of 2


GERRY MULLIGAN - Four Classic Albums (2 CDs)

GERRY MULLIGAN - Four Classic Albums (2 CDs)


Regular price $8.99 USD
Regular price $12.99 USD Sale price $8.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
AVID Jazz continues with its Four Classic album series with a re-mastered 2CD third release from Gerry Mulligan, complete with original artwork, liner notes and personnel details.
“Presenting the Gerry Mulligan Sextet”; “A Profile of Gerry Mulligan”; “Mainstream of Jazz” and “Gerry Mulligan and the Sax Section-The Gerry Mulligan Songbook”
What a fine set of albums we have for you on our third outing with the legend that is Gerry Mulligan. We have finally collected together three of Gerry Mulligans hard to find and critically acclaimed sextet recordings from 1955-56. “Presenting the Gerry Mulligan Sextet” “A Profile of Gerry Mulligan” and “Mainstream of Jazz”. Mulligan was as ever in a period of change and innovation and the line up on these albums reflects his thoughts as he shifts bass and trumpet parts and brings in trombones etc. On these classic albums you will hear both trumpeters Jon Eardley and Don Ferrara, Robert Brookmeyer on trombone, William Crow and John Morrison handling bass duties, Zoot Sims on tenor and Dave Bailey on drums. One thing is for sure, these guys certainly cook up a storm, these albums swing like crazy! Our fourth album is none other than –”Gerry Mulligan and the Sax Section”- “The Gerry Mulligan Songbook” Again a hard to find and critically acclaimed classic, this set recorded in 1957 finds Gerry literally letting rip with all horns blasting. How’s this for a horny line up? Gerry Mulligan-baritone sax, Lee Konitz-alto sax, Allen Eager-alto & tenor sax, Zoot Sims-alto & tenor sax, Al Cohn-tenor & baritone sax. And if that line up wasn’t enough to shake things up these fiery horn men are ably assisted by Freddie Green on guitar, Henry Grimes on bass, Dave Bailey on drums with Bill Holman somehow managing to arrange the whole crazy thing! Enjoy!

1-8: ‘Presenting The Gerry Mulligan Sextet’
1. Mud Bug
2. Sweet And Lovely
3. Apple Core
4. Nights On The Turntable
5. Broadway
6. Everything Happens To Me
7. The Lady Is A Tramp
8. Bernie’s Theme
9-14: ‘A Profile of Gerry Mulligan’
9. Makin’ Whoopee
10. Demanton
11. Duke Ellington Medley-Moon Mist/ In A Sentimental Mood
12. Westward Walk
13. La Plus Que Lente
14. Blues

1-6: ‘Mainstream of Jazz’
1. Elevation
2. Mainstream
3. Ain’t It The Truth
4. Igloo
5. Blue At The Roots
6. Lollypop
7-13: ‘The Gerry Mulligan Songbook’
7. Four And One Moore
8. Crazy Day
9. Turnstile
10. Sextet
11. Disc Jockey Jump
12. Venus De Milo
13. Revelation
View full details