Skip to product information
1 of 1


Horace Parlan: Classic Blue Note Collection (4 CDs)

Horace Parlan: Classic Blue Note Collection (4 CDs)


Regular price $18.99 USD
Regular price $21.70 USD Sale price $18.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Among the most revered and in-demand pianists of the post-bop era, Horace Parlan remains one of the most well represented jazz musicians of the 1950s and 1960s, having produced both an extraordinary array of albums as leader, and concurrently contributed to a quite staggering selection of highly regarded albums by other premier jazz musicians. This 4CD boxset collates all of Horace Parlan's solo-albums from the 1960s, on which he performed as leader, alongside his finest contribution to a fellow musician's record. A pioneer who adapted his disability into a distinctive style, Parlan remains one of the finest jazz-men of the age, and this superb collection of his best work serves as both a dynamic reminder of his prowess, and as a fully-formed starting point for any inquisitive beginner.

- Disc 1 -
1 C Jam Blues
2 On Green Dolphin Street
3 Up in Cynthia's Room
4 Lady Bird
5 Bags' Groove
6 Stella By Starlight
7 There Is No Greater Love
8 It Could Happen to You
9 Us Three
10 I Want to Be Loved
11 Come Rain or Come Shine

- Disc 2 -
1 Wadin'
2 The Lady Is a Tramp
3 Walkin'
4 Return Engagement
5 Wadin'
6 Up in Cynthia's Room
7 Borderline
8 Rastus
9 Oh So Blue
10 Speakin' My Piece
11 Headin' South
12 The Song Is Ended
13 Summertime
14 Low Down
15 Congalegre
16 Prelude to a Kiss
17 Jim Loves Sue
18 My Mother's Eyes

- Disc 3 -
1 On the Spur of the Moment
2 Skoo Chee
3 And That I Am So in Love
4 Al's Tune
5 Ray C
6 Pyramid
7 The Book's Beat
8 Up and Down
9 Fugee
10 The Other Part of Town
11 Lonely One
12 Light Blue

- Disc 4 -
1 Home Is Africa
2 A Tune for Richard
3 Back from the Gig
4 Dexi
5 Kucheza Blues
6 Happy Frame of Mind
7 Wednesday Night Prayer Meeting
8 Cryin' Blues
9 Moanin'
10 Tensions
11 My Jelly Roll Soul
12 E's Flat, Ah's Flat Too

View full details