Skip to product information
1 of 1


ETTA JAMES: COMPLETE A'S & B'S 1955-62 (2 CDs)

ETTA JAMES: COMPLETE A'S & B'S 1955-62 (2 CDs)

Regular price $17.99 USD
Regular price $21.58 USD Sale price $17.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Etta James is widely regarded as one of the finest female blues, R&B and soul singers of the modern era, second only in some eyes to Aretha Franklin - Atlantic's Jerry Wexler called her "the greatest of all modern blues singers". After a chequered early life, she was discovered in Los Angeles singing with a vocal group at the age of 16 by Johnny Otis, who signed her to Modern, and she scored an R&B No. 1 in 1955 with her debut recording "The Wallflower (Roll With Me Henry)", a re-working of Hank Ballard's "Work With Me, Annie", following it up with another Top 10 R&B hit "Good Rockin' Daddy".

After recording briefly for Modern subsidiary Kent, she signed to the Chess label, and began recording material that combined the intensity of R&B with the accessibility of pop and the Polish of jazz, switching to the Chess sister label Argo in 1960, and hitting the pop and R&B charts with more than fifteen records between 1960 and '62, including Top 5 successes like "All I Could Do Was Cry", "My Dearest Darling", "At Last", "Trust In Me" and "Something's Got A Hold On Me", before aspects of her life began to unravel in subsequent years.

This great-value 52-track 2-CD set comprises all her A & B sides during those first important years of her career, plus a bonus album version of "Dance With Me Henry", so it's a comprehensive overview of her early work.

  1. The Wallflower (Roll with Me Henry) - Etta James & the Peaches
  2. Hold Me Squeeze Me - Etta James & the Peaches
  3. Hey Henry
  4. Be Mine
  5. Good Rockin Daddy
  6. Crazy Feeling
  7. W-O-M-A-N
  8. That's All
  9. Number One
  10. I'm a Fool
  11. Tears of Joy
  12. Shortin' Bread Rock
  13. Tough Lover
  14. Fools We Mortals Be
  15. Good Lookin'
  16. Then I'll Care
  17. Market Place
  18. The Pick-Up
  19. By the Light of the Silvery Moon
  20. Come What May
  21. Sunshine of Love
  22. Baby, Baby Every Night
  23. I Hope You're Satisfied - Betty & Dupree
  24. If It Ain't One Thing - Betty & Dupree
  25. How Big a Fool
  26. If I Can't Have You - Etta James & Harvey Fuqua
  27. My Heart Cries - Etta James & Harvey Fuqua
  28. Spoonful - Etta James & Harvey Fuqua
  29. It's a Crying Shame - Etta James & Harvey Fuqua
  30. All I Could Do Was Cry
  31. Boy of My Dreams
  32. My Dearest Darling
  33. Tough Mary
  34. At Last
  35. I Just Want to Make Love to You
  36. Trust in Me
  37. Anything to Say You're Mine
  38. Fool That I Am
  39. Dream
  40. Don't Cry, Baby
  41. Sunday Kind of Love
  42. It's Too Soon to Know
  43. Seven Day Fool
  44. Something's Got a Hold on Me
  45. Waiting for Charlie to Come Home
  46. Stop the Wedding
  47. Street of Tears
  48. Next Door to the Blues
  49. Fools Rush in
  50. How Do You Speak to An Angel
  51. Would It Make Any Difference to You
  52. Dance with Me Henry
View full details