Skip to product information
1 of 2


KENNY BURRELL - Four Classic Albums (2 CDs)

KENNY BURRELL - Four Classic Albums (2 CDs)

Regular price $8.99 USD
Regular price $12.99 USD Sale price $8.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
AVID Jazz continues with its Four Classic Album series with a re-mastered 2CD second set release from Kenny Burrell, complete with original artwork, liner notes and personnel details.
“Earthy” (with The Prestige All Stars); “Kenny Burrell”; “On View At The Five Spot Café” (with Art Blakey) and “A Night At The Vanguard”
For our second exploration of the work of Kenny Burrell we have divided this 2CD set into a studio side and a live side in order to contrast the many styles and nuances of the playing of this great Detroit guitarist. We begin with “Earthy” an album Kenny led for The Prestige All Stars (an ever evolving group of jazz musicians who would come together for a recording date and then split to do their own thing). On this occasion Kenny leads a fine set of musicians in a fiery five set recording. For the “Kenny Burrell” set Kenny is found in a more straight ahead and subdued mood. CD2 has Kenny in a live setting firstly at The Five Spot with Art Blakey in a swinging set from 1959 which features the track “Lover Man” which includes in the words of Andy Summers, lead guitarist of The Police, “one of the best jazz guitar solo’s ever recorded”. In the same year Kenny also recorded a live set at The Village Vanguard but this time with his famous trio which featured Richard Davis and Roy Haynes. The set captures the trio at their very best with the band clearly having a joyful time. Artists appearing alongside Kenny Burrell on our four fine selections include Al Cohn, Al McKusick, Art Farmer, Mal Waldron Teddy Kotick, Ed Thigpen (Prestige All Stars); Cecil Payne, Tommy Flanagan, Doug Watkins, Elvin Jones (Kenny Burrell) Art Blakey, Tina Brooks, Bobby Timmons, Roland Hanna, Ben Tucker (Five Spot) Richard Davis, Roy Haynes (Village Vanguard).

1-5: ‘Earthy’
1. Earthy
2. What’s Not
3. I Wouldn’t
4. The Front Line
5. Dayee
6-10: ‘Kenny Burrell’
6. Don’t Cry Baby
7. Drum Boogie
8. Strictly Confidential
9. All Of You
10. Perception

1-5: ‘On View At The Five Spot Cafe’
1. Intro / Birks’ Works
2. Hallelujah
3. Lady Be Good
4. Lover Man
5. 36-23-36
6-13: ‘A Night At The Vanguard’
6. All Night Long
7. Will You Still Be Mine
8. I’m A Fool To Want You
9. Trio
10. Broadway
11. Soft Winds
12. Just A-Sittin’ And A-Rockin’
13. Well You Needn’t
View full details