Skip to product information
1 of 2


LESTER YOUNG - Four Classic Albums (2 CDS)

LESTER YOUNG - Four Classic Albums (2 CDS)

Regular price $8.99 USD
Regular price $12.99 USD Sale price $8.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
AVID Jazz continues with its Four Classic Album series with a re-mastered 2CD second release from Lester Young, complete with original artwork, liner notes and personnel details. Having released a fine set by Lester Young (AMSC1307) over two years ago, we thought it was high time to re-visit the great man’s catalogue. This time we have included not only a couple of classic Count Basie titles which heavily feature “Pres” at his absolute prime, but also the formidable classic “The Jazz Giants”.
“Count Basie Kansas City Seven & Lester Young Quartet”; “Blue Lester”; “The Jazz Giants ‘56” and “Count Basie At Newport’”
There is not much to say about Lester Young that has not been said before, he was certainly one of the most influential jazz musicians who ever lived and he really did exemplify the image of the cool jazz musician with his heavy eye lidded appearance, his famed pork pie hat and the ever present, fag smoke wafting into view. His playing was cool and mellow and brilliant and we have chosen to highlight it in our four albums where he can be heard in collaboration with other great musicians including Count Basie, Buck Clayton, Freddie Greene, Jo Jones, Junior Mance, Roy Haynes, Shadow Wilson, Roy Eldridge, Vic Dickenson, Teddy Wilson, Illinois Jacquet, Frank Wess, Thad Jones & Jimmy Rushing.

1-7: ‘Count Basie Kansas City Seven & Lester Young Quartet’
1. Lester Leaps In Again (take 1)
2. After Theatre Jump (take 2)
3. Destination K.C. (take 1)
4. I Never Knew (take 2)
5. Just You, Just Me (take 2)
6. Afternoon Of A Basie-ite (take 2)
7. Sometimes I’m Happy (take 2)
8-19: ‘Blue Lester’
8. (I Don’t Stand) Ghost Of A Chance
9. Crazy Over Jazz
10. Ding Dong
11. (Back Home Again In) Indiana
12. These Foolish Things
13. Exercise In Swing
14. Blues ‘N Bells
15. Salute To Fats
16. June Bug
17. Blue Lester
18. Jump, Lester Jump
19. Basie English

1-5: ‘The Jazz Giants ‘56’
1. I Guess I’ll Have To Change My Plan
2. I Didn’t Know What Time It Was
3. Gigantic Blues
4. This Year’s Kisses
5. You Can Depend On Me
6-12: ‘Count Basie At Newport’
6. Swingin’ At Newport
7. Polka Dots And Moonbeams
8. Lester Leaps In
9. Sent For You Yesterday (And Here You Come Today)
10. Boogie Woogie (I May Be Wrong)
11. Evenin’
12. One O’Clock Jump
View full details