Skip to product information
1 of 2


MAHLER: SYMPHONY NO. 8 (SYMPHONY OF A THOUSAND) - London Symphony Orchestra, Valery Gergiev (2 CDs)

MAHLER: SYMPHONY NO. 8 (SYMPHONY OF A THOUSAND) - London Symphony Orchestra, Valery Gergiev (2 CDs)


Regular price $6.99 USD
Regular price $11.99 USD Sale price $6.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Viktoria Yastrebova, Ailish Tynan, Ludmila Dudinova (sopranos), Lilli Paasikivi, Zlata Bulycheva (mezzo-sopranos), Alexey Markov (baritone), Sergey Semishkur (tenor) & Evgeny Nikitin (bass)

Choir of Eltham College, Choral Arts Society of Washington, London Symphony Chorus & London Symphony Orchestra, Valery Gergiev

This is a great disc, and no mistake. It is the first to which I am glad to give the “IRR Outstanding” appellation. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.’ (International Record Review).

“at once the most ambitious and the most impressive in Gergiev’s Mahler series…The atmosphere of a great occasion is caught admirably, with the timpani and organ very impressive…A most competitive version.” (Penguin Guide)
“the final Chorus Mysticus brings a real sense of gravitas and uplift. The massed voices are wonderfully hushed” (Gramophone)

Part I
1. I. Veni, Creator Spiritus 01:26
2. II. Imple Superna Gratia 03:55
3. III. Infirma Nostri Corporis 06:12
4. IV. Accende Lumen Sensibus 04:44
5. V. Veni, Creator Spiritus 03:47
6. VI. Gloria Patri Domino 02:52
Part II
7. I. Poco Adagio 12:30
8. II. Ewiger Wonnerbrand 01:34
9. III. Wie Felsenabgrund Mir Zu Füßen 04:30
10. IV. Gerettet Ist Das Edle Glied 03:08
11. V. Uns Bleibt Ein Erdenrest 02:48
12. VI. Höchste Herrscherin Der Welt! 04:02
13. VII. Dir, Der Unberührbaren 03:37
14. VIII. Bei Der Liebe, Die Den Füßen 05:01
15. IX. Neige, Neige, Du Ohnegleiche 04:12
16. X. Komm! Hebe Dich Zu Höhern Sphären! 01:10
17. XI. Blikket Auf 06:16
18. XII. Alles Vergängliche 05:30

View full details