Skip to product information
1 of 3

Deutsche Grammophon




Regular price $21.99 USD
Regular price $44.66 USD Sale price $21.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

This collection of previously unreleased live recordings celebrates the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra’s centenary and the ten-year residency, from 2008 to 2018, of its principal conductor Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

The Rotterdam Philharmonic, under its long-term Principal Conductor Yannick Nezet-Seguin, is widely recognised as one of Europe’s most distinguished orchestras. Celebrated for its winning combination of passionate commitment, boundless energy and scintillating virtuosity, the orchestra has come a long way since its relatively humble beginnings in 1918 as a private ensemble whose members initially paid for the privilege of joining its ranks.

The arrival of Canadian maestro Yannick Nezet-Seguin in 2008 signalled a new golden era for the Rotterdam Philharmonic, as is evidenced by this outstanding set of recordings, captured live in the Doelen concert hall between 2011 and 2016 and collected together here for the first time by Deutsche Grammophon. At the end of 2017/18 season Nezet-Seguin assumes the role of Honorary Conductor, handing over the post of Principal to 29-year-old Lahav Shani.


Disc: 1
1. Shostakovich: Symphony No.4: I Allegretto poco moderato
2. Shostakovich: Symphony No.4: II Presto
3. Shostakovich: Symphony No.4: III Moderato con moto
4. Shostakovich: Symphony No.4: IV Largo
5. Shostakovich: Symphony No.4: V Allegro

Disc: 2
1. Mahler: Symphony No.10 "Unfinished": I Adagio
2. Mahler: Symphony No.10 "Unfinished": II Scherzo I
3. Mahler: Symphony No.10 "Unfinished": III Purgatorio
4. Mahler: Symphony No.10 "Unfinished": IV Scherzo II
5. Mahler: Symphony No.10 "Unfinished": V Finale

Disc: 3
1. Beethoven: Symphony No.8: I Allegro vivace e con brio
2. Beethoven: Symphony No.8: II Allegretto scherzando
3. Beethoven: Symphony No.8: III Tempo di menuetto
4. Beethoven: Symphony No.8: IV Allegro vivace
5. Tchaikovsky: Francesca da Rimini
6. Turnage: Piano Concerto: I Rondo-Variations
7. Turnage: Piano Concerto: II Last Lullaby for Hans
8. Turnage: Piano Concerto: III A Grotesque Burlesque

Disc: 4
1. Bartok: Concerto for Orchestra: I Introduzione. Andante non troppo - Allegro vivace
2. Bartok: Concerto for Orchestra: II Giuoco delle coppie. Allegretto scherzando
3. Bartok: Concerto for Orchestra: III Elegia. Andante, non troppo
4. Bartok: Concerto for Orchestra: IV Intermezzo interrotto. Allegretto
5. Bartok: Concerto for Orchestra: V Finale. Pesante - Presto
6. Dvorak: Symphony No.8: I Allegro con brio
7. Dvorak: Symphony No.8: II Adagio
8. Dvorak: Symphony No.8: III Allegretto grazioso - Molto vivace
9. Dvorak: Symphony No.8: IV Allegro ma non troppo

Disc: 5
1. Bruckner: Symphony No.8: I Allegro moderato
2. Bruckner: Symphony No.8: II Scherzo. Allegro moderato
3. Bruckner: Symphony No.8: III Adagio. Feierlich langsam; doch nicht schleppend

Disc: 6
1. Bruckner: Symphony No.8: IV Finale. Feierlich, nicht schnell
2. Debussy: Nocturnes: I Nuages. Modéré
3. Debussy: Nocturnes: II Fêtes. Animé et très rythmé
4. Debussy: Nocturnes: III Sirènes. Modérément animé
5. Haydn: Symphony No.44 "Mourning": I Allegro con brio
6. Haydn: Symphony No.44 "Mourning": II Menuetto (Allegretto) - Canone in Diapason
7. Haydn: Symphony No.44 "Mourning": III Adagio
8. Haydn: Symphony No.44 "Mourning": IV Finale - Presto

View full details