Skip to product information
1 of 1


NINA SIMONE - Four Classic Albums (The Amazing Nina Simone / Nina Simone At Town Hall / Forbidden Fruit / Nina Simone At Newport)

NINA SIMONE - Four Classic Albums (The Amazing Nina Simone / Nina Simone At Town Hall / Forbidden Fruit / Nina Simone At Newport)


Regular price $8.99 USD
Regular price $12.99 USD Sale price $8.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
AVID Jazz continues with its Four Classic Album series with a re-mastered 2CD release from Nina Simone, complete with original artwork, liner notes and personnel details (where available).
“The Amazing Nina Simone”; “Nina Simone at Town Hall”; “Forbidden Fruit” and “Nina Simone At Newport’”
Us folks in music retail are often plagued with the problem of where to categorise an artist. In fact for many music fans, even trying to categorise a musician is actually the problem right there! “Let the music speak for itself”, they all cry. If only life were so simple! Imagine you walk into a record shop and everything is listed alphabetically. You would have to wade through a lot of stuff beginning with “s” before you got to Nina Simone. At least with a jazz section you know where you will find John Coltrane or Miles Davis. And so we get nearer to our problem, where do we file Nina Simone? Here is a fine artist whose background is essentially classical, gospel and blues and yet on our selections she is undoubtedly singing in the jazz mode. A bit like Ray Charles, we thought, crosses many genres! So jazz it is. Here we feature four of Nina’s earliest albums in a mixture of studio and live recordings. Her style at this early stage was certainly more in the jazz idiom, based on her gospel and blues background before she moved closer to soul and even pop later in her career.

1-12: ‘The Amazing Nina Simone’
1. Blue Prelude
2. Children Go Where I Send You
3. Tomorrow (We Will Meet Once More)
4. Stompin’ At The Savoy
5. It Might As Well Be Spring
6. You’ve Been Gone Too Long
7. That’s Him Over There
8. Chilly Winds Don’t Blow
9. Theme from “Middle Of The Night”
10. Can’t Get Out Of This Mood
11. Willow Weep For Me
12. Solitaire
13-23: ‘Nina Simone At Town Hall’
13. Black Is The Color Of My True Love’s Hair
14. Exactly Like You
15. The Other Woman
16. Under The Lowest
17. You Can Have Him
18. Summertime (instrumental)
19. Summertime (vocal)
20. Cotton Eyed Joe
21. Return Home
22. Wild Is The Wind
23. Fine And Mellow

1-10: ‘Forbidden Fruit’
1. Rags And Old Iron
2. No Good Man
3. Gin House Blues
4. I’ll Look Around
5. I Love To Love
6. Work Song
7. Where Can I Go Without You
8. Just Say I Love Him
9. Memphis In June
10. Forbidden Fruit
11-17: ‘Nina Simone At Newport’
11. Trouble In Mind
12. Porgy
13. Little Liza Jane
14. You’d Be So Nice To Come Home To
15. Flo Me La
16. Nina’s Blues
17. In The Evening By The Moonlight
View full details