Skip to product information
1 of 1


MOZART: Piano Quartets 1 & 2 - Pro Arte Piano Quartet

MOZART: Piano Quartets 1 & 2 - Pro Arte Piano Quartet


Regular price $4.50 USD
Regular price $11.99 USD Sale price $4.50 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Pro Arte Piano Quartet was made up of leading London-based instrumentalists, many of whom also played in the Melos Ensemble of London. Pianist Lamar Crowson was, and remains, one of the great chamber music pianists of all time (and a soloist in his own right). Kenneth Sillito led, for several years, the Academy of St. Martin in the Fields. Terence Weil was principal cellist of the English Chamber Orchestra and, like viola player Cecil Aronowitz, a founding member of the Melos Ensemble. Together they made three records for L’Oiseau-Lyre, the Decca subsidiary and they are all now reissued on Decca Eloquence.

Mozart’s piano quartets constitute two of the most important works in this genre. The first, in G minor, is full of anguish and passion, while the second, in E flat, conjures up the gentler, more romantic side of the composer’s nature – dreaminess, but with more than a touch of nobility.

Piano Quartet in G minor, KV 478
Piano Quartet in E flat major, KV 493

The Pro Arte Piano Quartet
Lamar Crowson, piano
Kenneth Sillito, violin
Cecil Aronowitz, viola
Terence Weil, cello

View full details