Skip to product information
1 of 2


BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 9 "Choral" - Manchester Camerata, Douglas Boyd

BEETHOVEN: Symphony No. 9 "Choral" - Manchester Camerata, Douglas Boyd


Regular price $3.99 USD
Regular price $11.99 USD Sale price $3.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Rebecca von Lipinksi, soprano
Anna Grevelius, mezzo-soprano
Peter Wedd, tenor
Roderick Williams, baritone
City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra Chorus
Manchester Camerata
Douglas Boyd, conductor

Manchester Camerata concludes its acclaimed Beethoven cycle, appropriately with the composer’s final Symphony, the glorious Ninth. Like the previous releases in this cycle these live recordings capture the spirit and freshness of these remarkable, genre-busting works, as well as the excitement, atmosphere and energy of the chamber orchestra under Douglas Boyd, the ensemble’s Music Director for 10 years.

Manchester Camerata has become one of the finest, most innovative chamber orchestras in the UK, and Douglas Boyd has proven to be an eminent Beethovenian. Conducting the composer’s Fidelio at the 2009 Garsington Opera Festival, The Times (London) noted “his grasp of Beethovenian idiom” and “pungent underlining of orchestral detail”, praising the musical performance as “sublime and exultant”.

Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125 “Choral”
1. I Allegro ma non troppo, un poco maestoso (14:38)
2. II Molto vivace (13:23)

3. III Adagio molto e cantabile (13:14)
4. V Presto – “O Freunde, nicht diese Töne!” – Allegro assai –
Allegro assai vivace: alla Marcia – Andante maestoso – Adagio
ma non troppo ma divoto – Allegro energico – Allegro ma non tanto … Presto (23:18)

View full details