Skip to product information
1 of 2


TCHAIKOVSKY: Eugene Onegin - Netherlands Opera, Skovus, Janssons (BluRay)

TCHAIKOVSKY: Eugene Onegin - Netherlands Opera, Skovus, Janssons (BluRay)


Regular price $2.99 USD
Regular price $19.99 USD Sale price $2.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Bo Skovhus (Eugene Onegin); Krassimira Stoyanova (Tatjana); Andrej Dunaev (Vladimir Ljenski); Mikhail Petrenko (Vorst Gremin);

Described by Tchaikovsky as lyric scenes, Eugene Onegin receives a spectacular reinterpretation from the Norwegian director Stefan Herheim. His productions create controversy and excitement around Europe, and here he takes Pushkins story of illusion, disaffection and frustrated love, and places the protagonists - world-weary Onegin and naïve, passionate Tatyana - in a triple temporal perspective, referencing the theatrical present, the period of the works composition, and the pageant of Russias history. Mariss Jansons, renowned for his mastery of Tchaikovsky's symphonies, conducts this performance from Amsterdams Muziektheater.

"Put too much steam into Tchaikovsky's score and it wilts. Be too shy and retiring, on the other hand, and the tragic momentum evaporates. Jansons sets us on a simmer and gradually turns the heat to boiling. It is magisterially paced, stunningly played and, seemingly effortlessly, Jansons captures every aching nuance. […] Herheim’sinnovations are often throbbingly acute (and sometimes wickedly funny)." (The Times)

"The Concertgebouw Orchestra, of which Mr. Jansons is music director, is here a dream of a pit orchestra. Mr. Jansons’s musicality is stamped on every phrase, and he ensures ideal coordination between singers and orchestra." (The New York Times)

"Herheim directs so many keen moments of character interactions that there's no danger of the opera lapsing into simplistic cliches..." (Gramophone)

"Although I look forward to seeing many more traditional stage productions, even if I do not expect all to have the same musical values as are achieved here, this is a version which anyone who loves this most personal of operas needs to see and hear." (Musicweb International)

Extra features

Cast gallery. 30-Minute Documentary Film.

View full details