Skip to product information
1 of 1


The Jazz Messengers: Classic Albums 1956-1963 (4 CDs)

The Jazz Messengers: Classic Albums 1956-1963 (4 CDs)


Regular price $18.99 USD
Regular price $24.99 USD Sale price $18.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The origin of the Jazz Messengers goes back to 1954 or 1955, when the first recordings credited to the band appeared. The Jazz Messengers formed as a collective, nominally led by Horace Silver or Art Blakey on various studio dates. Blakey credits Silver with reviving the Messengers name. Blakey formed a new line-up in 1956 that would prove to be somewhat more stable. The most notable name at the time was Jackie McLean. At just 25 he had already recorded with Miles Davis and Charles Mingus. Bill Hardman, Sam Dockery and Jimmy "Spanky" DeBrest filled out the band. They recorded another record for Columbia, Hard Bop, then went on to work for several different labels including RCA subsidiary Vik Records, Pacific Jazz, Elektra, Cadet, Jubilee, Bethlehem and a date on Atlantic featuring Thelonious Monk. Over this time the band's moniker evolved to include Blakey's name, starting with The Jazz Messengers featuring Art Blakey, then, Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers on several other releases and, for Cu-Bop (Jubilee, 1957), Art Blakey and his Jazz Messengers The Jazz Messengers remained a major jazz collective right through until Art Blakey's death in 1990, but the group's golden years were, by that juncture, long past, and it remains this seminal act's records from the mid-1950s through the mid-1960s for which the Jazz Messengers remain so fondly remembered. This superb collection features eight of the Jazz Messengers' finest records from this era, which feature, alongside maniman Art Blakey, the cream and most renowned players of the time

- Disc 1 -
1 Infra-Rae
2 Nica's Dream
3 It's You or No One
4 Ecaroh
5 Carol's Interlude
6 The End of a Love Affair
7 Hank's Symphony
8 Cranky Spanky
9 Stella By Starlight
10 My Heart Stood Still
11 Little Melonae
12 Stanley's Stiff Chickens

- Disc 2 -
1 I Could Have Danced All Night
2 On the Street Where You Live
3 There But for You Go I
4 They Call the Wind Maria
5 I Talk to the Trees
6 Almost Like Being in Love
7 Woody 'N You
8 Sakeena
9 Shorty
10 Dawn on the Desert

- Disc 3 -
1 Evidence
2 In Walked Bud
3 Blue Monk
4 I Mean You
5 Rhythm-A-Ning
6 Purple Shades
7 À la Mode
8 Invitation
9 Circus
10 You Don't Know What Love Is
11 I Hear a Rhapsody
12 Gee Baby, Ain't I Good to You

- Disc 4 -
1 Backstage Sally
2 Contemplation
3 Bu's Delight
4 Reincarnation Blues
5 Shaky Jake
6 Moon River
7 Caravan
8 Sweet 'N' Sour
9 In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning
10 This Is for Albert
11 Skylark
12 Thermo

View full details