Skip to product information
1 of 1


Weber & Schubert: Piano Sonatas - Paul Lewis

Weber & Schubert: Piano Sonatas - Paul Lewis



Regular price $19.99 USD
Regular price $38.37 USD Sale price $19.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Paul Lewis - Piano

Even if both of them were destined to die tragically of illness at a very early age (Weber at 39, Schubert just 31!), the two composers on this disc were healthy enough when they wrote these works, and were even beginning to taste success. Except that it was not to the piano sonata that they owed their fame: not without a twinkle in his eye, Paul Lewis has coupled their works in this genre in order to paint a different and highly elegant portrait of two musical dramatists who were emblematic figures of Austro-German Romanticism.

Carl Maria von Weber [1786-1826]

Piano Sonata No. 2, op. 39
la bémol majeur / A-Flat Major / As-Dur

1I. Allegro moderato, con spirito ed assai legato 14'11
2II. Andante. Ben tenuto 7'05
3III. Menuetto capriccioso. Presto assai 4'08
4IV. Rondo. Moderato e molto grazioso 7'02
Franz Schubert [1797-1828]

Piano Sonata, D. 575, op. Posth. 147
Si majeur / B major / H-Dur

5I. Allegro ma non troppo 8'41
6II. Andante 5'46
7III. Scherzo Allegretto 5'14
8IV. Allegro giusto 5'21
View full details