Skip to product information
1 of 1





Regular price €10,95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €10,95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

With a selection of indelible recordings made over 70 years, Classic Piedmont Blues captures the essence of this fascinating blues tradition. Originating in the foothills of Southern Appalachia, the Piedmont blues served as a breeding ground for cross-pollination between traditions: rural and urban, black and white, country and coastal. Swept up on the tide of the Great Migration, it was carried from the Carolinas and Virginia, north and east through Maryland and Washington, D.C., to New York City and back again. Featuring influential artists like John Jackson, Cephas & Wiggins, Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee, and many others, this collection offers an illuminating overview of the Piedmont style.

Truckin’ Little Baby John Jackson 03:00

Mamie John Cephas and Phil Wiggins 04:13

Hey Bartender, There’s a Big Bug in My Beer Warner Williams and Eddie Pennington 02:47

Confusion Brownie McGhee and Sonny Terry 03:21

T.B. Blues Josh White 03:24

If I Could Holler Like a Mountain Jack Baby Tate 03:06

Clog Dance Hobart Smith 01:09

Daisy Brownie McGhee 03:27

Going Down the Road Feeling Bad Elizabeth Cotten 02:13

I Got a Woman 'Cross Town Pink Anderson 01:56

Red River Blues John Jackson 03:01

I Ain’t Gonna Pick No More Cotton Warner Williams and Jay Summerour 03:50

Sweet Woman Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee 03:06

The Train that Carried My Girl from Town Doc Watson 02:22

Mountain Jack Reverend Gary Davis 03:31

Crow Jane John Cephas and Phil Wiggins 03:04

Fore Day Creep Brownie McGhee 04:14

Sittin’ On Top of the World Roscoe Holcomb 02:43

Meet Me in the Bottom Pink Anderson 03:33

Dirty Mistreater Sonny Terry, Brownie McGhee, and J. C. Burris 03:01

The Road is Rough and Rocky Archie Edwards 03:24

View full details