Skip to product information
1 of 2


PADILLA: Streams of Tears - The Sixteen

PADILLA: Streams of Tears - The Sixteen


Regular price €4,95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €4,95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Padilla is symbolic of an age. One of the most important composers of the ‘New World’, Padilla was a native of Spain who emigrated to Mexico at a time when the church had money as well as a great appreciation of art in the service of the church. Streams of Tears reflects not only the penitential nature of this music but also a period in history know as the ‘Siglo de Oro’ when Spain and Portugal were masters of the great ocean and in the process of discovering and developing new lands in the Americas. The music of the period is as varied as it is distinctive, with a harmonic richness and colour that is found nowhere else.

The Sixteen
Harry Christophers

Gutiérrez de Padilla (c.1590-1664)
1. Deus in adiutorium
2. Mirabilia testimonia tua
3. Stabat Mater
4. Transfige, dulcissime Domine
5. Lamentations
6. Tristis est anima mea
7. Versa est in luctum

Missa Ave Regina caelorum
8. Kyrie
9. Gloria
10. Credo
11. Sanctus

12. Pater peccavi
13. Salve Regina
14 Ave Regina caelorum

View full details