Skip to product information
1 of 2


BEETHOVEN: Symphonies Nos. 6 & 8 - Manchester Camerata, Douglas Boyd

BEETHOVEN: Symphonies Nos. 6 & 8 - Manchester Camerata, Douglas Boyd


Regular price €3,95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €3,95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Manchester Camerata lodges the latest release in its acclaimed Beethoven Symphony cycle. Like the previous releases in this cycle these live recordings capture the spirit and freshness of these remarkable, genre-busting works, as well as the excitement, atmosphere and energy of the chamber orchestra under Music Director Douglas Boyd.

Manchester Camerata has become one of the finest, most innovative chamber orchestras in the UK, and Douglas Boyd has proven to be an eminent Beethovenian. Conducting the composer’s Fidelio at the 2009 Garsington Opera Festival, The Times (London) noted “his grasp of Beethovenian idiom” and “pungent underlining of orchestral detail”, praising the musical performance as “sublime and exultant”.

This is the penultimate release in the Douglas Boyd-Manchester Camerata Beethoven Symphony cycle. The Ninth “Choral” Symphony will be released in November 2011.

Ludwig Van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)
Symphony No. 6 “Pastoral” (39:55)
1. I Allegro ma non troppo (11:16)
2. II Andante molto moto (11:24)
3. III Allegro (5:01)
4. IV Allegro (3:37)
5. V Allegretto (8:37)

Symphony No. 8 (24:36)
6. I Allegro vivace e con brio (8:42)
7. II Allegretto scherzando (3:51)
8. III Tempo di Menuetto (4:44)
9. IV Allegro vivace (7:19)

View full details