Skip to product information
1 of 2





Regular price €5,95 EUR
Regular price Sale price €5,95 EUR
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Initially trained as a signwriter, legendary guitarist Tal Farlow did not begin his musical career until he was 23 years old in 1944, when he joined Dardanelle Breckenridges Trio and made his first recordings. He then followed the familiar trail of many jazz musicians by moonlighting on many other artists records.
On CD1 of this splendid new release from Avid Jazz we can hear him alongside the likes of Oscar Pettiford, Joe Morello, Red Mitchell, Stan Levey and Claude Williamson to name but a few. Around 1953 Tal made his first recordings as leader for the Blue Note label, however he was soon moved across to the Norgran label by boss Norman Granz. These are the recordings you can hear on CD2 of this fine re-mastered double CD. Tal’s trio consists of pianist Eddie Costa and bassist Vinnie Burke.
We feature FOUR entire albums from this period “The Tal Farlow Album”, “ The Interpretations Of Tal Farlow,” “A Recital By Tal Farlow” and “Tal”…just in case you forgot his name!!
Following a move to New Jersey Tal returned to signwriting alongside teaching guitar and did not return to recording until 1967 when he signed to Prestige and Verve. Then followed another quiet period before his profile again began to rise in the 1980’s when he toured the world until the mid 90’s.

1-8 are from ‘The Tal Farlow Album’
1. If There Is Someone Lovelier Than You
2. With The Wind And The Rain In Your Hair
3. My Old Flame
4. Gibson Boy
5. You And The Night And The Music
6. Love Nest
7. Blues In The Closet
8. Everything I’ve Got
9-18 from ‘The Interpretations of Tal Farlow’
9. These Foolish Things
10. I Remember You
11. How Deep Is The Ocean
12. Fascinating Rhythm
13. Manhattan
14. Autumn Leaves
15. It’s You Or No One
16. Tenderly
17. There Will Never Be Another You
18. Just One Of Those Things
19-22 from “The Tal Farlow Album” (12" version)
19. Lullaby Of The Leaves
20. Stompin’ At The Savoy
21. This Is Always
22. Tea For Two

1-7 from ‘A Recital by Tal Farlow’
1. On The Alamo
2. Will You Still Be Mine
3. Walkin’
4. Moonlight Becomes You
5. Out Of Nowhere
6. Lorinesque
7. Bye Bye Baby
8-15 from ‘Tal’
8. Chuckles
9. You Don’t Know What Love Is
10. How About You
11. Broadway
12. Anything Goes
13. Isn’t It Romantic
14. Yesterdays
15. There Is No Greater Love

View full details